Simple Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
A little plain but good and creamy. I added a few things and jazzed it up a little bit. I mixed in 2cups cheese instead of just the 11/2 cups,1 1/2 cups milk instead of the 1 1/4cups, 2TBS cream cheese, salt, pepper to taste. Baked for 30min Then topped with 1cup french fried onions and 1cup more of shredded cheese and cooked another 10min or until french fried onion have lightly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2009
This was really fast, easy and delicious! Like others I tweaked it a bit. I used cheddar cheese soup instead of the mushroom soup, doubled the shredded cheese and added 1/2 c. sour cream to the recipe. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
I made this tonight for my kids. I substituted cream of chicken for the cream of mushroom (it's what we had in the pantry) and added some sour cream. The kids ate it, but I thought the flavor of the canned soup was too prominent. Maybe it would be better with mushroom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Takoma Park, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
Tasty. In fact, when I fed this to my son and wife, they both enjoyed it. She called it "naughty good"...which in my books is a winner! I did add a great deal more cheese than the 1/2 cup in the recipe, which is probably the "naughty" part. Made it again today (doubled the recipe), this time I added cooked bacon, after all, whats better than bacon and cheese. I'll let you all know how it turned out, and the rest of the family's response
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
I wish i could do like, 4 1/2 stars. I follwed GENELLEBs spice instructions and this was one of the best homemade mac and cheeses I've made! I only rated it a 4 because it cost more to make then the boxed version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
We make this recipe for holidays w/ cream of chicken, cream cheese and through in different kinds of cheeses, evaporated milk and salt/ pepper to taste and everyone looks for it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Tried it with cream of mushroom soup and didn't much care for small pieces of mushroom in my mac-n-cheese. Did follow suggested spices and added more cheese. I am trying it again with cheddar soup. Overall, tasty recipe for an old favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Good basic recipe - great with a few additions! I tried garlic powder, paprika, cayenne, and an extra cup of cheese. I wanted to use 2 cups of pasta, so I added a cup more milk as well, which turned out to be a good idea because apparently Campbell's condensed cream of mushroom is super salty (if you're using Campbell's, I'd recommend extra milk for sure). I did use regular milk, as in the recipe, and although it did get a teeny bit grainy it seemed less so than with a regular cheese sauce - evaporated milk should solve that problem. Baked at 350 for 50min; about 5 minutes before it was done, I stirred it through with a fork, sprinkled extra cheddar on the top, and left it uncovered to brown a bit. Simple, tasty dinner, and enough over for tomorrow's lunch! I'll definitely try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
This was a great recipe. My husband usually hates cream of mushroom soup but he really liked this recipe. it made the sauce so creamy and yummy! he's already asked when i'm going to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corycooks79

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
Easy recipe, added more cheese like other reviewers, but definitely needs some seasoning, and will be adding some bacon for more flavor next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Smoky Mac & Cheese

Turn basic pantry ingredients into a creamy, spicy mac & cheese.

Classic Macaroni and Cheese

This classic, hearty mac and cheese is super simple and really tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States