Simple Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
The recipe is delicious as given but the cook time is too long. 45 min. to 1 hr. is plenty. Used regular ham but didn't add it until the last 15 minutes to avoid overcooking it. Great way to use kale and leftover ham. So few ingredients, easy to make on a night when you just don't feel like cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Followed the recipe, it was very good will make again with some changes to suit the family, always make it the way the recipe says then if I have to tweak it for the family I do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Leesburg, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
We LOVE this soup. I also added chopped onion and sautéed it with the garlic before adding the broth. The first time I made it I used kale from
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Perfect Fall recipe, easy and just a few ingredients. I did substitute Johnsonville Italian sausage, casing removed and crumbled,cooked. This works well in the slow cooker...ready in 3 hours. Served with corn muffins....Delicious and hearty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
So simple yet so much flavor. I did saute some onion and the garlic before adding the broth. True, you don't need to add any salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
Added 3 chopped spring onions! Great snowy day healthy soup. I used "Simple Truth Organic" bacon and ground turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
My family and I absolutely love this soup! The only thing I did differently was to add a whole chopped yellow onion. I fees that it adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
The description of this soup is very accurate. It is simple, yet hearty. I only got about 4-5 servings, so I would probably just double the recipe next time. I used un-peeled red skin potatoes and for the broth I used 2 packets of no sodium chicken broth powder. I thought, there would not be enough salt because of this. However, with the pre-cooked turkey there is plenty. I used approximately 1/2 of a pre-cooked Butterball oven-roased turkey breast which I cubed, that I first heated in my Nu-Wave oven for 8 minutes. I have not seen turkey ham before. I am not sure the kale can really be tasted, but it does add color to the broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
This is an awesome and simple recipe to make. If you don't have your own home made chicken stock be sure to purchase low sodium chicken stock. I used kale from my garden and red potatoes which are lower glycemic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States