Simple Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This was delicious. Had kale from farm CSA but didn't know how to use it. So glad I found this recipe. Per the other comments, cooked garlic before adding the chicken broth and used regular ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
We also had kale from our CSA and didn't want it to go to waste. This is a GREAT recipe and the first time we've had kale, what a wonderful soup. Per the other comments I added onions, garlic (before boiling the broth) and tabasco. So easy! Make sure not to add any salt, the broth and turkey ham add a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minneapolis Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
Very good and easy to prepare. My wife who is not as picky an eater as myself said that you can't leave out the ham. Served with a multi-grain baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
Just wonderful. I did make some changes. I sauteed a coarsely chopped onion, 6 cloves of garlic and a big carrot, thinly sliced, in a couple of tablespoons of olive oil. Then stirred in the sliced kale. I couldn't find turkey ham, so I bought a pound of turkey kielbasa, sliced that up and added it to the pot. Finally, added the potatoes (I used Yukon Gold, peeled and chopped, then added sodium-free chicken broth. We try to keep the salt down, so I used a liberal sprinkling of Trader Joe's 21 Seasoning Salute. The result was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
Very good and easy too! Made a few adjustments, saute'd garlic and 1 whole onion before adding to soup. Also used country ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
this is simple and so good. so good for you. will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I like this light soup. I use spinach instead when I don't have the kale. I also saute onion and garlic in a little butter, and then add the broth. This is something to do with leftover ham, if you don't want a heavy,creamy soup. I serve it with warm cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I really enjoyed this soup! So simple to throw together, and just a few ingredients. But the resulting flavor is so wonderful. My whole family enjoyed it and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chloenavasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
Simple yet nutritious way to incorporate kale into your diet. I've substituted turkey bacon and have prepared it without meat and it still turned out wonderfully. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by busymommy
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
This gets points for ease and high nutrition. Use the prewashed, precut kale in a bag for added ease. I used regular ham. Even some of the kids ate this. The flavor is simple, but perfect. Sometimes there just is no need for complicated flavor when the natural flavors are so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busymommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States