Simple Kale Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I omitted the ham and halved the recipe due to a vegetarian in the house/lack of more broth. It turned out really well-- a simple soup, not too overwhelming. I'll definitely make this again once I run into a surplus of kale like we had this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
Wow! This was my first experience cooking kale, and this was very simple and tasty. I used smoked sausage instead of turkey ham because I had it on hand. Also used more garlic and a touch of Worcestershire (because I love it). No other spices needed! I only had 6 cups of chicken broth and used 2 cups of water but it was still very flavorful. This would be great with an onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tbender36
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
It's very simple and I didn't modify the recipe besides just using regular ham. It was pretty delicious I must say. If I did it again, I might add onions for further flavor but it's good as is. Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tbender36

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Somerset, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Very good soup--it's like a simpler and more healthy version of the Zuppa Toscana at Olive Garden (which I make often). Like other reviewers, I'm impressed with how flavorful this recipe is. I used regular ham and added some 1% milk into each bowl to help cool it off and to give it the "creamy" look and flavor that I love. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
So good and very easy to make. I used chourico and it added a little spice. At serving, I put a little butter in the soup. Loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Great hearty soup on a cold winter day! I had leftover ham so I used that. I didn't have 8 cups of chicken broth so I used 4 cups of chicken broth and 4 cups of water. It was still yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Stillwater, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Made the following changes based on previous reviews and things I could find. Sauteed carrot, onion and garlic in olive oil before adding broth, pre-washed, pre-cut collard greens instead of kale, portuguese linguica sausage in place of ham and potatoes. Brought to a boil and then simmered for about an hour. Absolutely delicious, hearty, healthy winter soup. Will make again and again. Next time want to try chorizo when I can find it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
this is simple and so good. so good for you. will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bismarck, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Great as a base recipe too, I also used spicy sausage & carrots. I will use it with leftover ham the next time I have some too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Austin, Michigan, USA
Living In: Newport News, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Easy, but very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rustic Tuscan Soup with Kale

A hearty kale soup with white beans, bacon, tomatoes, and cheesy croutons.

Kale Soup

Spicy sausage and hot peppers star in this hearty vegetable soup.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States