Simple Golabki Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I have been making this for several years, it is really easy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Even with some embellishing (adding more garlic, Worcestershire sauce and V-8 rather than water) this fell short for us in both flavor as well as eye appeal. Still, it was an easy one dish meal that came together quickly. I think this could be improved by preparing it with tomato sauce rather than the diced tomatoes and adding some cooked rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
About a thousand times easier than rolling the dang rolls! I changed this up quite a bit, though. I made it using my family recipe although in a big pot, like a goulash. I did everything here EXCEPT a doubled the meat, added a few cups of cooked white rice (cooked in chicken broth with a big dollop of butter) added dried thyme to taste (1tsp+) and used a liter of tomato juice instead of the canned tomatoes. I personally like butter melted on top for serving, too. My son loves this dish so much that I feed it to him for breakfast with an egg on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I just made this plate, and it was great. I changed the recipe a little bit though. I added some turmeric, parsley, basil and tarragon. I also boiled some split peas and added it to the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2014
This was delicious and everyone liked it! I used crushed tomatoes instead of diced and covered it while it simmered (It would have dried out otherwise). I cooked it for 20-25 minutes, which was perfect. I used 2 small onions and would not leave them out. They really add to the dish. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfnotes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I love simple recipes, they get me started making something which otherwise I might find too complicated. I made changes to this and have saved it as my favorite unstuffed (low carb friendly) cabbage recipe. I sauted onion and garlic and used 2lb hot italian sausage/hamburger mix and browned it before adding to the pot. I added a cup of tomato sauce, 1 1/2 teaspoons of splenda, and 1/2 teaspoon of nutmeg. When the concoction was close to done, I turned up the heat and removed the lid on the pot to reduce the moisture but not overboil the leaves. I'll make it this way forever. Thank you for giving me a great start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Simple Golabki Haiku: "Such a cinch to make. (Needed more time to simmer.) Happy with our meal!" I added the onion and garlic (more than 1 clove) to the meat as it browned, and included some paprika and cayenne pepper (per another review), and the only other thing different was finding that it took longer than the stated 7-10 min. for the cabbage to be tender (at least tender our tastes, but still retaining some crunch.) Great easy entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
I used 1/2 meatloaf mix and half Jimmy Deans sausage. I also used a can of fire-roasted diced tomatoes with chile's in it. Finally, like other reviewers, I added 1/4 tsp Paprika, 2 tsp dried Parsley and 1 tsp garlic powder. Also simmered for closer to 25 minutes. We enjoyed the different twist (btw - my mom tried to make it with ground turkey - NOT GOOD).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2014
so easy and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
really really boring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Penne Pasta with Simple Beef Neck Sauce

See how to make a simple, long-simmering meat sauce for pasta.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States