Simple Garlic Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
I had an accidental incident as I cooking other dishes at the same time, so my shrimp was cooked pretty much at the point and flipped when I had to add the garlic, so added in 1/2 garlic (and I had at least 10 cloves minced) with the shrimp knowing that a minute or two at medium heat will still give garlic flavor without the garlic bite that raw garlic has.Me and my SO prefer undercooked/raw vs burnt and detest overcooked shrimp. I added the caper brine to the lemon juice as suggested but me and my SO LOVE capers so I added in about a table spoon of medium sized capers. I then cooked through the garlic and added butter until saucy as my fresh pasta (Brand name found in refrigerated section) angel hair cooked, and so I added the pasta to the sauce with the garlic, parsley and caper mixture with added butter...then added in the already cooked shrimp as I took it off the heat. The fresh cooked pasta still had some of the water because I took it out of the pot with tongs which loosened up the sauce but still stuck to the pasta enough and then added back in the half coated garlic shrimp and tossed. End result, pasta covered with flavor with perfect ratio of shrimp to pasta (about .75 to 1 lb shrimp with 9 ounces of fresh brand name angel hair) garlic and caper ratio. Again we LOVE capers, so for us to add in whole capers was not to say this recipe isn't delicious - but a perfect recipe for people to use as a base and adjust accordingly to taste a it's quick and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gillian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fargo, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
Absolutely delicious! Placed cast iron pan in an oven I heated to 400 degrees. Prepped all ingredients in advance --- chopped garlic, chopped parsley, juiced lemons, measured juice, added caper brine. Rinsed shrimp and shook off most of the water. Pulled the hot pan out of the oven, placed it on a high burner, added the oil and started cooking - it was done in less than 5 minutes once the cooking started. So fast! So easy!!! Anytime you get a recipe that the hardest part is mincing garlic ---- you know you have a winner. This cooks so fast, you not only have to have your ingredients prepped, you need to have all of the side dishes ready, also. I only had time to toast the bread --- not even time to throw together a salad --- once this started.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
My 10-year old son picked this recipe out to make last night. I was skeptical (not being a fan of capers) but I have to say, the caper brine made the dish. We made one batch with fish (it turned out incredibly tasty), and one with shrimp. They licked their platters clean, and I think I'm going to see my son on "chopped" about 10 years from now if he keeps it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
We enjoyed this recipe. If I did it again I would saute the garlic before putting the shrimp in. The garlic was a little raw and a bit strong for our tastes (and we love garlic).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TEFARMER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Really delicious! I LOVE the caper brine in this but then I could make myself sick on capers - love them! The only thing I changed was the parsley. I just don’t like fresh parsley but I had some fresh basil and used it instead and it was wonderful. Thanks for another great recipe, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Heavenly smell still lingers! NOt as much butter and no chili peppers. Outta capers but I love them so made a special trip and added a few capers along with the brine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phoebe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
I tried it, and it was so easy and good--esp on the bread pieces. I did cheat and used dry white wine after removing the shrimp-- and OMG! DO IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Simple, easy and delicious – and the caper brine is a nice touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is the best shrimp dish I've made. I've tried several recipes for shrimp pasta dishes and I was never satisfied with any of them until now. The little bit of caper brine totally made the difference. I used fresh basil and parsley and added a little shredded parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 214) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Garlic Shrimp Linguine

Make elegant but easy garlic shrimp in a white wine and butter sauce.

Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp and Broccoli

This pasta dish is brimming with shrimp, broccoli, and garlicky goodness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States