Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This was so quick and easy to make. Taste and consistancy was fantastic. I used pecorino cheese instead of the parmesan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I made a half a batch of this because my basils are just babies. I omitted the brazilian nuts because I don't have any. Wonderful flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
A good basic recipe - I added some crushed red pepper in place of chili powder. Also i recommend roasting the pine nuts first, and adding a bit of salt. But DO NOT put this in a blender - it will taste like pureed grass. Chop it fine or use a mortar and pestle - it is worth the extra work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I've tried a number of basil pesto recipes and there was always something just a little off. With the omission of the Brazil nuts (I didn't have any), this recipe was simple and tasty, and is now in my recipe box. I used some of the pesto on pasta, which disappeared at dinnertime, and I froze the remainder in an ice cube tray. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
I love this! This is now my favorite pesto recipe to put up for the year. To keep pesto; freeze in an ice cube tray, then pop out and store in a ziplock bag in the freezer. Each ice cube is about an 1/4 cup. This is fantastic for my grilled pesto chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
512 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I added some seasoned salt and red pepper flakes as I blended. Very easy to make and a great way to clear out my basil plant, which is going crazy this year. I also toasted the pine nuts first (roll around in a very hot pan until lightly browned on some but not all sides) - intensifies the nutty flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2006
Great idea roasting the pine nuts. ALso did not use the Brasil nuts. Who keeps those on hand? Otherwise, really liked the pesto. Great on anything!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
This is wonderful!! A great use for my fresh basil plant. I omitted the brazil nuts because mine were no longer fresh. I actually measured my garlic and used a lot more cloves than I thought. I found 3/4 cup of olive oil sufficient. I also toasted my pine nuts first. Used this on Pesto Pizza by Ann Miner for a delicious meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
My roommates and I made this for our "family dinner" and absolutely loved it! It tastes great on really good Italian bread...or on Ritz crackers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redfield, Iowa, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Lovely! It's my first time making pesto. Used walnuts instead of brazil nuts, and added a bit more oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stavanger, Rogaland, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States