Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I did not like this at all. It smelled like artichokes and no I did not put any in it. I followed the recipe exactly. Just not for me I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This recipe is perfect...I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Absolutely the best pesto recipe EVER. Thank you so much! I did not change the recipe except for a little less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
How yummy! I will never buy pesto from the grocery store again. I didn't really measure anything except the basil. I also added about 3 tablespoons of olive oil to blend the basil into a paste. After that I threw in 1 package of pine nuts, 6 garlic cloves, and a 5 ounce block of parmesan cheese cut into cubes. I blended it all together then added in the rest of the olive oil, omitting the brazil nuts and chili powder. So good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I left out the pine nuts (didn't have any) and the chili. Added 1/2 cup of the olive oil at the begining of the process since I couldn't get the basil to grind in the blender using the called for TBSP. Also used less garlic (just my taste) and added some salt. Very tasty pesto by is self, but used a cup of pesto mixed with some alfredo I had already made and served it with chicken, pasta with roasted asparagus. I froze the rest of the pesto spread out in an ice cube tray to use another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was FABULOUS - esp. for a hot summer supper. Basil from our garden. Fresh cut tomatoes, celery and cukes, yummy crusty multi-grain bread, goat cheese, and we added the watermelon salsa (goat cheese on top of that also). My grandson is allergic to pine nuts so we used what we had - almonds and walnuts. OH - and he's the one who actually made the pesto. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is Fantastic! Very flavorful, even w/o the brazil nuts (I used extra pine nuts). I used fresh garlic and did include the chili powder, though not as much as called for. Came out great in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Good pesto. Only used half the amount of chili powder and there was still a descent kick. Also did not use any Brazil nuts and replaced pine nuts with walnuts. I gave this recipe four stars because it called for too much garlic- I suggest using 1T or 1-1/2 T at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Tasted great. I used walnuts and did the whole thing in my Ninja.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larry G Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
We used this recipe to turn the Simple Garlic Pesto into a Creamy Pesto. It had rave reviews from the 3 pesto lovers in my house. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States