Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brooklynsurecooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Topsfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
Easy and fabulous! I didn't have Brazil nuts on hand so I added a few walnuts instead. I grew basil in the garden this year so I could have homemade pesto in the freezer into the colder months!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I've been craving turkey pesto sandwiches so this recipe came in handy. I mixed the pesto with Hellman's mayo to put on the sandwich bread. Also added a few dried cranberries into the sandwich. It was simple, easy and the taste was exactly what I was looking for. I've probably eaten six pesto sandwiches in the past two days if that tells you anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
I did not like this at all. It smelled like artichokes and no I did not put any in it. I followed the recipe exactly. Just not for me I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
This recipe is perfect...I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Absolutely the best pesto recipe EVER. Thank you so much! I did not change the recipe except for a little less oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
How yummy! I will never buy pesto from the grocery store again. I didn't really measure anything except the basil. I also added about 3 tablespoons of olive oil to blend the basil into a paste. After that I threw in 1 package of pine nuts, 6 garlic cloves, and a 5 ounce block of parmesan cheese cut into cubes. I blended it all together then added in the rest of the olive oil, omitting the brazil nuts and chili powder. So good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I left out the pine nuts (didn't have any) and the chili. Added 1/2 cup of the olive oil at the begining of the process since I couldn't get the basil to grind in the blender using the called for TBSP. Also used less garlic (just my taste) and added some salt. Very tasty pesto by is self, but used a cup of pesto mixed with some alfredo I had already made and served it with chicken, pasta with roasted asparagus. I froze the rest of the pesto spread out in an ice cube tray to use another day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
This was FABULOUS - esp. for a hot summer supper. Basil from our garden. Fresh cut tomatoes, celery and cukes, yummy crusty multi-grain bread, goat cheese, and we added the watermelon salsa (goat cheese on top of that also). My grandson is allergic to pine nuts so we used what we had - almonds and walnuts. OH - and he's the one who actually made the pesto. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States