Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
I had a basil plant and didn't know what to do with all the basil. I use this recipe with the pesto cheesy chicken rolls and the family loves it! My mother is on a low carb diet and she can eat this and enjoys the flavor. As others said, I make extra and freeze it for later. I didn't have much luck with the freezing in the ice cube trays, so instead I put in the smaller portion sized tupperware and it worked out just great. It's great with the chicken, great on just plain noodles, anything your imagination can think of. Really great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I made this without pine nuts as I didn't have those on hand, and it turned out pretty great anyway! I did have to add a bit of salt though. Froze in an ice cube tray then put the cubes in a freezer bag. Cut a cube in half and placed each half on a couple chicken breasts I baked tonite, letting them bake with the chicken. Soo delicious!! Super easy to make and I love that I can have pesto anytime I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by focaccia9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
The brazilian nuts and chili powder have me scratching my head. I used red pepper flake for the heat instead, and toasted the pine nuts over medium-low heat until they started to brown and they gave off a nutty aroma. Be sure to use a high quality olive oil (I use Axienda Olearia del Chianti) and real Parmigiano Reggiano (I used Montanari & Gruzza). If I could get raw Brazilian nuts, I'd be willing to try it, but they just aren't in high demand in Italy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
Simple but great tasting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
yummay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cherbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
I think I'll cut back on the oil a tad next time - perhaps I just didn't blend it long enough. I also omitted the chili powder since I was looking for a really basic basil recipe. I think next time I will try adding nutmeg. My parents were really impressed with this recipe! I tossed some elbow macaroni noodles in the pesto, added some quartered cherry tomatoes and feta (my favorite pasta dish) and froze the rest for later. Thanks for sharing! UPDATE: will definitely cut back on the oil, as the pesto did not freeze all the way when i put it in the ice cube trays as one reviewer recommended
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I made several batches of this pesto at the end of summer..I had 3 large, very vigorous basil plants and wanted to use them up. This is a tasty pesto, but too hot with the chile powder, so I omitted it and it was perfect. I also used walnuts instead of pine nuts and Brazil nuts. I froze most of it and it has kept well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mars

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Millsboro, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
Very Delicious Pesto sauce! does use a lot of basil so expensive if you don't grow your own but a great way to use extra if you do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I went with no brazil nuts, 3 large garlic cloves, 3/4 cups parmesan. Definately a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
This was a great recipe, but I had to halve it because 3 cups of basil is A LOT! It did turn out great, added a little salt and a little extra cheese. Also, followed the advice of someone else and froze the pesto in ice cube tray for easier thawing and serving. Great tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States