Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by may2mac
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is the first time I have made pesto from scratch. I loosely followed the recipe I toasted the pine nuts, omitted the brazil nuts, used 4 cloves of garlic (which was a bit too strong so I'll reduce that next time to just 2), and lastly I didn't measure the oil but poured it in the blender until it was the consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
good. froze in ice cube trays. can't taste spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Very good, straight-forward classic pesto recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this recipe tonight with fresh basil from my garden. It was very good, the only thing I did different was sprinkle with a 1/2 tsp. salt and I omitted the brazil nuts. Made enough for dinner and some for another night. Thanks for the recipe, I always wanted to make homemade pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by over easy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is the 2nd year I made it, and it is fantastic. I did not use the chili powder as my kids can smell and taste that from a mile away, I find that using 2 TBSP of the fresh garlic gives it enough zing. Toast the pine nuts and have omitted the other nuts. I have frozen it in the ice-tray and then moved to a freezer zip-lock bag. I served it with grilled chicken strips on top of fresh pasta and my guests and family could not stop slurping it! When you sautee the chicken strips or just after you removed the pasta from the boiling water, add 3 cubes of the pesto and it will melt within minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Excellent! Makes too much for two people. Will make again in smaller batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
It would really help if the serving size were given. I need a specific amount of pesto, and this gives me no clue of what I'll end up with! Grrrrr. Ok...now it's a day later and I made this. It made 11 oz for me. So the serving size is 1 oz per person. Recipes ALWAYS need to have the yield; the number of servings alone is meaningless. The taste is ok; next time I'll cut back a bit on the oil, which I find a little overpowering. Or, cut to the chase and buy jarred, which I'm guessing can be even better. Maybe this needs more cheese?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Great! I added salt and pepper and more garlic. I only needed 3/4 cup of the olive oil, as I usually add chopped sundried tomatoes (packed in oil) to my pesto dishes. Editting to add that the second time I made this, I subbed 1 Cup of lemon balm (got it in my CSA box) for 1 cup of the basil. Nice variation. I also only used 1/2 cup oil and it was plenty. Love this recipe! Editting again.... used 1 cup of fresh chives the last time I made it. I also used walnuts in place of the pine nuts because Costco was out of them Worked nicely! Also added the juice of one lemon and was able to cut back on the oil a bit more while still keeping the right consistency. This recipe is so versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Made this without the chili powder, using fresh organic basil and garlic from this week's CSA box. Amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakridge, Oregon, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Fantastic pesto! I used macadamia nuts because my supermarket didn't have pine nuts in small quantities, and I omitted the Brazil nuts, but everything else stayed the same. It was great. Used it on "Pesto Hamburgers" from allrecipes and my husband said it was the best burger he's ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States