Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
I used only the ingredients listed, I didn't experiment and add a bunch of stuff and then try to rate your recipe. The taste was very nice, everyone liked it. It was as good as any pesto I've had at restaurants. Next time I'll toast the nuts before I add them. Four stars is only because I couldn't get the basil to "paste" in my blender. I ended up adding everything just to get it to blend. It could just be my blender. I'll try adding the basil in slowly next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I like this recipe, and it worked well with the substitutions I had to make. I had no nuts, so I ground up a half cup of oats and added an extra TBS of oil. It tasted surprisingly good, and I hardly noticed the lack of nuttiness thanks to the Parmesan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I have made this repeatedly over the past few years and am just now getting around to rating. As it stands, the recipe is maybe a three-star, but with a tiny bit of modification, it becomes much better. I add LOTS more garlic, some seasoned salt, and more parmesan. It's a good starting point, then play around with it until you're satisfied. I have found this freezes well in ice cube trays for future use. I have also poured a thin layer of olive oil over the top and frozen in a plastic container with good results, but I don't typically need a large amount all at once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by may2mac
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
This is the first time I have made pesto from scratch. I loosely followed the recipe I toasted the pine nuts, omitted the brazil nuts, used 4 cloves of garlic (which was a bit too strong so I'll reduce that next time to just 2), and lastly I didn't measure the oil but poured it in the blender until it was the consistency I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by may2mac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
good. froze in ice cube trays. can't taste spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
Very good, straight-forward classic pesto recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I made this recipe tonight with fresh basil from my garden. It was very good, the only thing I did different was sprinkle with a 1/2 tsp. salt and I omitted the brazil nuts. Made enough for dinner and some for another night. Thanks for the recipe, I always wanted to make homemade pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by over easy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is the 2nd year I made it, and it is fantastic. I did not use the chili powder as my kids can smell and taste that from a mile away, I find that using 2 TBSP of the fresh garlic gives it enough zing. Toast the pine nuts and have omitted the other nuts. I have frozen it in the ice-tray and then moved to a freezer zip-lock bag. I served it with grilled chicken strips on top of fresh pasta and my guests and family could not stop slurping it! When you sautee the chicken strips or just after you removed the pasta from the boiling water, add 3 cubes of the pesto and it will melt within minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rina

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
Excellent! Makes too much for two people. Will make again in smaller batch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States