Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great recipe. I followed recommendations from another review and freezed in ice cubes. Hope to have the same great taste in a few month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Just made this for the first time. Delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly except used all walnuts instead of the pine nuts and brazil nuts, as that was all I had on hand. This will be my go to pesto recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My new pesto recipe! However, I have some issues with the measurements. Firstly, why would I chop or mince anything if it's going in the food processor. Secondly, instead of 12 servings,I would have preferred amount in cups. I started with 5 medium cloves of garlic and threw into the processor with the blade running. Stopped processor and put in 3 cups of basil leaves, good handful of walnuts, the cheese, a good shake of red pepper flakes instead of chili powder, salt & pepper to taste. Started processor and poured in 1/2 cup of evoo, which seemed to be enough. Since I was using this as a side dish, I cooked a 1/2 lb. of rotelli pasta, tossed with the pesto and only had enough leftover pesto to fill 3 ice cubes in an ice cube tray. That all said it was delicious and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is a fun recipe,i had no Brazil nuts but I added Tahini, then I decided to add some lemon juice, thought that would brighten the flavor I am going to serve it with salmon tonight, nice recipe that I will use over and over. Bet I could use crunchy peanut butter also , love recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Barringer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Deliciously fantastic. I left out Brazil nuts and only used 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil. I used 1/8 teaspoon of chili powder so my daughter would enjoy it. This is the recipe I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Quick, easy and very good. I used less oil and jarred garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
It came out more like a pesto-y cheese spread, which is delicious, but not quite pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I LOVE BASIL!! And never done pesto before! And I was in search of a recipe to surprise my bf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Make sure that your garlic isn't too strong or cut in half (1 Tbsp) and if you use Parmesan in the shaker reduce by 2 Tbsp. I tried Tia Basil the first time and it is not as strong so the other flavors were prominent. I also reduced the virgin olive oil by 2 Tbsp and used Walnut oil and substituted the nuts for Walnuts. I used what I had. Next time I will try sticking to the recipe. It still turned out good. I am going to let it sit for several days and if still too strong will add more basil possible some spinach leaves to cut the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camp Godina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Didn't have enough red pepper flakes but it was very good. My whole family liked it. I roasted the pine nuts before blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States