Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Very easy and tasty recipe but I would use less oil than recommended. I just used this one and found it to have far too much of an oily taste for my preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Great recipe. I followed recommendations from another review and freezed in ice cubes. Hope to have the same great taste in a few month.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
Just made this for the first time. Delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly except used all walnuts instead of the pine nuts and brazil nuts, as that was all I had on hand. This will be my go to pesto recipe in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cross Plains, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Reedsburg, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
My new pesto recipe! However, I have some issues with the measurements. Firstly, why would I chop or mince anything if it's going in the food processor. Secondly, instead of 12 servings,I would have preferred amount in cups. I started with 5 medium cloves of garlic and threw into the processor with the blade running. Stopped processor and put in 3 cups of basil leaves, good handful of walnuts, the cheese, a good shake of red pepper flakes instead of chili powder, salt & pepper to taste. Started processor and poured in 1/2 cup of evoo, which seemed to be enough. Since I was using this as a side dish, I cooked a 1/2 lb. of rotelli pasta, tossed with the pesto and only had enough leftover pesto to fill 3 ice cubes in an ice cube tray. That all said it was delicious and will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Caldwell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is a fun recipe,i had no Brazil nuts but I added Tahini, then I decided to add some lemon juice, thought that would brighten the flavor I am going to serve it with salmon tonight, nice recipe that I will use over and over. Bet I could use crunchy peanut butter also , love recipes like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Barringer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Deliciously fantastic. I left out Brazil nuts and only used 1/2 cup of extra virgin olive oil. I used 1/8 teaspoon of chili powder so my daughter would enjoy it. This is the recipe I will use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Quick, easy and very good. I used less oil and jarred garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by baydog

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
It came out more like a pesto-y cheese spread, which is delicious, but not quite pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelBaker

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I LOVE BASIL!! And never done pesto before! And I was in search of a recipe to surprise my bf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Make sure that your garlic isn't too strong or cut in half (1 Tbsp) and if you use Parmesan in the shaker reduce by 2 Tbsp. I tried Tia Basil the first time and it is not as strong so the other flavors were prominent. I also reduced the virgin olive oil by 2 Tbsp and used Walnut oil and substituted the nuts for Walnuts. I used what I had. Next time I will try sticking to the recipe. It still turned out good. I am going to let it sit for several days and if still too strong will add more basil possible some spinach leaves to cut the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camp Godina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States