Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2005
This was so quick and easy to make. Taste and consistancy was fantastic. I used pecorino cheese instead of the parmesan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I made a half a batch of this because my basils are just babies. I omitted the brazilian nuts because I don't have any. Wonderful flavor!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
I added some seasoned salt and red pepper flakes as I blended. Very easy to make and a great way to clear out my basil plant, which is going crazy this year. I also toasted the pine nuts first (roll around in a very hot pan until lightly browned on some but not all sides) - intensifies the nutty flavor. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2006
A good basic recipe - I added some crushed red pepper in place of chili powder. Also i recommend roasting the pine nuts first, and adding a bit of salt. But DO NOT put this in a blender - it will taste like pureed grass. Chop it fine or use a mortar and pestle - it is worth the extra work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northridge, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
I've tried a number of basil pesto recipes and there was always something just a little off. With the omission of the Brazil nuts (I didn't have any), this recipe was simple and tasty, and is now in my recipe box. I used some of the pesto on pasta, which disappeared at dinnertime, and I froze the remainder in an ice cube tray. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Virginia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Great recipe! The first thing you notice is the dark green colour, not like store bought pesto which is usually "fluffed-up" with oil, nuts etc. One point though, be careful with the chili powder, I think I added a bit too much (or the chili powder was too hot) and it masked the other flavours to a degree. Will add it gradually next time to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2006
Ditch the chilli power, it just takes away from the flavor. Toast your pine nuts first, then chop them all in your food processer a bit, but not too much as you want texture. I somtimes use walnuts instead of pine nuts, also never use brazil nuts. Can't tell the difference. Most any type of hard oily nut will work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
It tastes really fresh and good but cooking was not as simple as the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeegie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suwon, Kyonggi-Do, South Korea
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Even after a couple of attempts and adjustments my pesto seemed far oilier than necessary. The flavor was good but not excellent. With some more tweeking it would likely come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vance

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
Made this once as directed but minus the chili powder. Thought it was good but too sharp from the parm. Made it again using mostly romano and a little parm instead and it was excellent!! Also toasted the pine nuts, added a little salt and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Mukwonago, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States