Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Lovemyfamily09
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I didn't use chili powder or the brazil/pine nuts or parmesan cheese in my version. I did use everything else, PLUS I added sun-dried tomatoes and ground black pepper and simple ground peanuts surprisingly enough, because I had no other nuts available. Oh it was so tasty... I put it over Penne pasta and the family ate it up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
The recipe was awesome and super easy. I used two cloves of garlic and it was a little strong but that was all me and had nothing to do with the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was soooo GOOD! I had been using jar sauce and always had less than satisfying results. I made this pesto and added it to some ricotta cheese, mozzarella, parm, salt and pepper and used it in home made ravioli. WOW, awesome! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Awesome stuff! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Made it exactly like the recipe and it turned out delicious. I saw where another reader waited to add the Parmesan cheese but I didn't and it froze just fine. I didn't have an ice tray so I froze small 1/4 cups of the sauce and then took them out and put them in baggies. Now when I need pesto sauce I just grab a baggie and heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made this without the brazil nuts, slightly less parmesan cheese and more garlic. great recipe. I used this in a chicken pesto pasta recipe from this site and got rave reviews from family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orland, California, USA
Living In: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
i used only pine nuts and skipped the chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I made this exactly as called for, but felt it needed a little extra oil and salt. I added this to Creamy Pesto Shrimp recipe on this site. The result was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Loved this recipe. First time I ever made pesto and it was super easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Maybe I just don't like pesto, but this seemed dry to me and way too much basil. You couldn't even taste anything else. Sorry, but I was actually being generous by giving it two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homewood, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 207) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States