Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This is Fantastic! Very flavorful, even w/o the brazil nuts (I used extra pine nuts). I used fresh garlic and did include the chili powder, though not as much as called for. Came out great in the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Good pesto. Only used half the amount of chili powder and there was still a descent kick. Also did not use any Brazil nuts and replaced pine nuts with walnuts. I gave this recipe four stars because it called for too much garlic- I suggest using 1T or 1-1/2 T at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Tasted great. I used walnuts and did the whole thing in my Ninja.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannen1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
We used this recipe to turn the Simple Garlic Pesto into a Creamy Pesto. It had rave reviews from the 3 pesto lovers in my house. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I loved this, it was the first time I've made pesto. I used all Brazil nuts because I live in South America, and pine nuts cost a fortune while Brazil nuts are cheap. It still came out great, I took another person's advice and left out the chili powder, but next time I might try mixing some in. I'm freezing half of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovemyfamily09
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I didn't use chili powder or the brazil/pine nuts or parmesan cheese in my version. I did use everything else, PLUS I added sun-dried tomatoes and ground black pepper and simple ground peanuts surprisingly enough, because I had no other nuts available. Oh it was so tasty... I put it over Penne pasta and the family ate it up! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovemyfamily09

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
The recipe was awesome and super easy. I used two cloves of garlic and it was a little strong but that was all me and had nothing to do with the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
This was soooo GOOD! I had been using jar sauce and always had less than satisfying results. I made this pesto and added it to some ricotta cheese, mozzarella, parm, salt and pepper and used it in home made ravioli. WOW, awesome! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Cary, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
Awesome stuff! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Made it exactly like the recipe and it turned out delicious. I saw where another reader waited to add the Parmesan cheese but I didn't and it froze just fine. I didn't have an ice tray so I froze small 1/4 cups of the sauce and then took them out and put them in baggies. Now when I need pesto sauce I just grab a baggie and heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States