Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This is a great recipe! I made a couple small changes. I used 3/4 C of toasted pine nuts and no Brazil nuts. I doubled the minced garlic as I LOVE garlic and used 3/4 C of good Reggiano Parmesano. I was reluctant to try the chili powder but did and I didn't detect any chili flavor. I'm not really sure what the purpose of the chili powder is but there were no adverse effects. I will definitely make this again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hudson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Followed other reviews and toasted pine nuts at 300f in oven for 10 minutes and then crushed/grinded them using the back of a spoon. Added them in at the very end (do not blend these in the machine ... found out the hard way that if you do it taste like grass). Left out brazil nuts (didn't have any) and will add cheese when I serve this since I'll be freezing the batch I made. Also added juice of half lemon for taste and to keep the color nice while frozen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by apjuice
Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
In a word: fabulous. A very forgiving and versatile recipe. I've even used it to stuff small pork roasts along with provolone, red pepper and onion slices etc. Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sammich

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made this after a bumper crop of Basil in my garden! It was awesome. I froze a bunch and gave some to my Aunt. She said it was to die for and wanted the recipe. My family and I thought it was awesome and are growing more Basil for another batch. I found the pine nuts to be expensive but also made another batch using almonds instead which also turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chugiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Wow! I absolutely love this!! This is my first time making pesto from scratch and I tell you I am never going to buy store pesto again. I now know how easy it is to make this fresh and store it. I did not have any brazilian nuts so I used more pine nuts. The pesto leftovers I placed in an ice cube tray to freeze and will put in a ziplock bag later to store for later use. I think next time I will also toast the pine nuts first (roll around in a very hot pan until lightly brown) and then put in with the pesto to blend. I am so glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
I cut the recipe in thirds and spread it over thin chicken breasts before rolling them up and baking. The pesto was the best part. Will be repeating this one as soon as my basil plant recovers from the harvest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
Quick and easy to make! The chilli powder isn't entirely necessary but nice if you want a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
All I have to say is WOW. I left out the chili powder and substituted pecans for Brazil nuts and WOW. I'm sure it would be good the original way, but I only had pecans! The garlic really gave it a kick, so if you want it with more heat, up the garlic amount! The husband fired this down in minutes. Will definitely make this again soon and often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Claire Wood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: White Hall, Maryland, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
how the recipe is written exactly- you could play with it. I enjoyed this pesto sauce with grilled chicken and rotini(spiral) pasta. The oil is a bit much and i would recommend to cut back some(maybe 1/2 to 3/4 cup). A little salt is needed also. But over all, i will make this again and will edit and tweak it next time. Thanks for the good recipe. I also couldnt find brazil nuts so used a handful of walnuts instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscossio

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
This was excellent, but next time I would add a little more red pepper flakes and more nuts. I didn't have Brazil nuts or pine nuts, so I used walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States