Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Didn't have enough red pepper flakes but it was very good. My whole family liked it. I roasted the pine nuts before blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was phenomenal! I left out the Brazil nuts and just used about 3/4 c pine nuts, which I toasted on the stove. I also added just a pinch of salt, about 1/8 tsp. I tried to follow some users' suggestions to leave out the chili powder, but it was much too bland without. It adds just the right amount of zing without being too spicy (even my 4-year-old liked it). A dash of lemon juice might be a good idea for color preservation because the bright green did darken quite a lot very quickly, but that's just for aesthetic value. It took all my willpower to keep myself from eating it straight out of the blender with a spoon. I am going to make several more batches for canning and give them as Christmas presents to my family. It is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This recipe is excellent. I actually subbed walnuts the second time since I didn't have any pine nuts and I didn't notice any real difference. I just use walnuts now every time to saved expense. I do prefer it without the chili powder and 3/4 cup of oil instead. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is delicious as-is, but feel free to experiment with proportions or ingredients. I've made it several times, with or without chili powder or Brazil nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulrbabiarz
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I would like to try this recipe..look healthy..;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Overall, this recipe makes for a nice pesto. I omitted the brazil nuts, and I used a food processor (blender just didn't work as well). I also used minced garlic from a jar (was in a hurry), and the result seemed a bit bland. Next time, I plan to use fresh garlic, salt, pepper, a little less oil, and a little less Parm cheese. I might also experiment with a few drops of lemon juice. I will definitely make this again. It worked well in the Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Easy and delicious! Both my husband and I love this. We omitted brazil nuts because they weren't available at any local stores, but it was still amazing. Great to mix in with ricotta for stuffed shells or with pesto chicken pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissi Tucker Kuligowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: North Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Delicious!!! I used blanched almonds (instead of pine nuts and Brazil nuts) and fresh chilli pepper (instead of chilli powder). Served with pasta,over toasted baguette slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 208) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States