Simple Garlic and Basil Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I LOVE BASIL!! And never done pesto before! And I was in search of a recipe to surprise my bf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Make sure that your garlic isn't too strong or cut in half (1 Tbsp) and if you use Parmesan in the shaker reduce by 2 Tbsp. I tried Tia Basil the first time and it is not as strong so the other flavors were prominent. I also reduced the virgin olive oil by 2 Tbsp and used Walnut oil and substituted the nuts for Walnuts. I used what I had. Next time I will try sticking to the recipe. It still turned out good. I am going to let it sit for several days and if still too strong will add more basil possible some spinach leaves to cut the garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camp Godina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
Didn't have enough red pepper flakes but it was very good. My whole family liked it. I roasted the pine nuts before blending.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was phenomenal! I left out the Brazil nuts and just used about 3/4 c pine nuts, which I toasted on the stove. I also added just a pinch of salt, about 1/8 tsp. I tried to follow some users' suggestions to leave out the chili powder, but it was much too bland without. It adds just the right amount of zing without being too spicy (even my 4-year-old liked it). A dash of lemon juice might be a good idea for color preservation because the bright green did darken quite a lot very quickly, but that's just for aesthetic value. It took all my willpower to keep myself from eating it straight out of the blender with a spoon. I am going to make several more batches for canning and give them as Christmas presents to my family. It is so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
This recipe is excellent. I actually subbed walnuts the second time since I didn't have any pine nuts and I didn't notice any real difference. I just use walnuts now every time to saved expense. I do prefer it without the chili powder and 3/4 cup of oil instead. Really yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is delicious as-is, but feel free to experiment with proportions or ingredients. I've made it several times, with or without chili powder or Brazil nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paulrbabiarz
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I would like to try this recipe..look healthy..;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Overall, this recipe makes for a nice pesto. I omitted the brazil nuts, and I used a food processor (blender just didn't work as well). I also used minced garlic from a jar (was in a hurry), and the result seemed a bit bland. Next time, I plan to use fresh garlic, salt, pepper, a little less oil, and a little less Parm cheese. I might also experiment with a few drops of lemon juice. I will definitely make this again. It worked well in the Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Easy and delicious! Both my husband and I love this. We omitted brazil nuts because they weren't available at any local stores, but it was still amazing. Great to mix in with ricotta for stuffed shells or with pesto chicken pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
This is so easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Basil Pesto

See how to make a simple, versatile, and healthy spinach pesto sauce.

Homemade Garlic Basil Mayonnaise

See how to make a rich, creamy homemade herb mayonnaise.

Pesto Sauce

A classic pesto sauce with basil, walnuts, garlic, and Parmesan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States