Simple Garbanzos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I love garbanzos, I love peas; this was a perfect recipe for me! Delicious! Some minor adjustments: I doubled the peas to 1/2 cup, and reduced the olive oil to 4 T. In addition to tasting wonderful, the salad looked beautiful as well, and I think it would make a nice side dish for a summer bbq. Of course, with all the garlic and onions, I should probably put a bowl of mints right next to it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
I skipped the peas. The garbanzos alone were really good, but I think I added more onion than I should have. Definately a nice chilled bean salad that will go in the recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2008
Quick & easy meal! I didn't have onions nor garlic, so I used onion & garlic powders. I added one can of tomatoes with onion & garlic, decreased the oil to 4 tbsp (btw...that's 1/4 cup) and increased the peas to about 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This was surprisingly good and so easy to make. I didn't even know I liked garbanzos but now I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
Loved this! I added diced orange bell pepper for a little extra texture and flavor. I increased the cayenne pepper a tad and as other reviews did, I also increased the peas to 1/2 cup and decreased the olive oil to 3 Tbsp. Ate as a side dish, but could definitely eat as a snack as well. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
I cannot keep my spoon out of these! As is, they are perfect but I spiced them up to my liking and added a shook of Italian seasoning in addition to the oregano. Along with some roasted brussels sprounts, these made a lovely little mini-meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktchristmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
These are a delicious side and even better the next day! It's one of those where you can add more of what you like - i think i added more garlic, onion and red pepper flakes. So easy; definitely a winner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammy Myers Heath

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2006
This was a great weeknight picnic recipe. Simple and quick and lots of flavor. I also decreased the amount of olive oil and increased the peas to 1/2 cup. This is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Was looking for some healthy snack/side recipes using garbanzos and came across this. It is delicious! I didn't have lemon so I subbed lime juice, ommitted the peas (don't like frozen peas) and added a little less olive oil and a little more salt. Made them last nigth and marinated overnight to bring to work with my lunch and they are absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I thought this was a good basic recipe, but it lacked a little luster as it was, so I rated it a 3. We added Feta and added sea salt. With these adjustments it made it a 4 star. I will definitely make it again since I almost always have it's ingredients on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINGYV

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Chef John’s Simple Spinach Toasts

Turn leftover creamed spinach into a simple and delicious hot lunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States