Simple Deviled Eggs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
My grandmother is in the hospital and so I was unable to reach her for my lost copy of her recipe for Easter Dinner. This seemed similar, so I gave it a shot. I doubled the recipe, as my family are fans of deviled eggs and it's a big part of dinner. As written, the recipe is rather bland and has too much salt. I remembered my grandmother's recipe uses mayo, yellow mustard, white vinegar, sugar, Worcestershire, salt, pepper and the juice from sweet pickle relish. The changes I made are (for 12 eggs): 1/2 c mayo, 1.5 tsp Worcestershire; 1 tsp vinegar; 1/2 tsp sugar; 2 tsp juice from sweet pickle relish; 1 tsp yellow mustard; 1/2 tsp salt; 1/4 tsp pepper; 1/2 small onion finely minced; 1 stalk celery, finely minced. Blended all together, added a dash of hot sauce (GREAT addition) and filled the whites. I topped with our standard sweet paprika dusting and on a whim a sprinkling of dried dill. *As stated, using the recipe as written was too salty for our tastes, so the adjustments I made take that into account
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MelissaLee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I would have given these three to four stars but I bow to the taste buds of my family and guests who inhaled them. I cut back a bit on the salt and wish I had cut back a bit more. I used dijon mustard but other than that followed the recipe. At first I thought that I did not like the flavor of onion in this recipe but, when I polished off the one egg left behind the day after Easter, I decided that the small amount of onion added a huge hit of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Great Simple recipe! I eliminated the chopped onion and celery, (only because my family doesn't like "chopped" onions or celery) and used a punch of onion powder and celery salt in the yolk mixture. I made the mixture in a ziplock bag and cut the corner for easy piping as well. If you are looking for deviled egg recipe that tastes like deviled eggs, this is it! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Really good but too much salt! I doubled the recipe and used only 1/4 tsp of salt for the whole thing. I used white wine vinegar and double the celery and onion very finely minced. The celery adds such a nice crunch and flavor. My family went nuts for these! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
These were a hit at our house! I was hesitant adding the sugar and it tasted a little salty the night before I served them, but the next day they were perfect. I used dijon mustard and sprinkled a little smoked paprika on top... a tip for the smoked paprika, wait to add until right before serving so you don't lose that smoky taste. Wonderful and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DADAY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This turned out GREAT! I love the crunch that the celery and onions add. I put chopped chives on top. I wish I'd made more than 6 eggs...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sophielicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kylie M
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
This was SOOO GOOD!!!! My husband loved it! I put all the filling ingredients in a sandwich sized ziplock, smoothed them with my hands and cut a corner off to squeeze the filling in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I like this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I'm surprised to find myself giving 5 stars to a fairly standard deviled egg recipe, but there is something about the balance of sweet and acid in this that is just right. I consider the amount of salt to be personal taste, and for us a pinch is enough in this. I have also added a few drops of sriracha to this recipe, and love it even more. I used Chef John's method for hard-cooked eggs, letting my extra-large eggs set for 11 minutes after bringing to the full boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chatham, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Di's Delicious Deluxe Deviled Eggs

See how to make zesty, creamy deviled eggs.

Dannon Oikos Curried Deviled Eggs

Zesty deviled eggs are a hit at potlucks, picnics, or as a party appetizer.

How to Make Deviled Eggs

Learn simple tricks to making these classic hors d'oeuvres.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States