Simple, Classic Chicken Potpie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Wonderful and easy. I put a top crust on the pie and sauteed the chicken. I did not have enough filling for two pies. Great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Wow- this is excellent. My family devoured it- and there is another one sitting in the freezer! The only thing that I changed was that I used a mix of carrots, peas, corn and green beans. Also, I skipped the celery and onion. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
Wow! Worth the time & effort. Probably my favorite pot pie recipe. Thanks for a great one! I didn't have pie crusts so I substituted boxed corn muffin mix with a bit more milk than called for & thyme. Great complement!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
I couldn't believe how good this turned out. I joined the Allrecipes club just so I could rate this recipe. I was never a fan of peas and carrots, but I used baby sweet peas (which were great!), and instead of carrots I used corn and whole button mushrooms. I also added a little nutmeg, and I used 2 crusts for each pie (1 for top & 1 for bottom) instead of only 1 crust. The cream sauce tastes wonderful, and when the pie is cut, the sauce does not run out like with frozen pot pies, so it cuts very nicely. I also boiled boneless chicken breasts instead of using rotisserie chicken and it came out great! Enjoy! It really tastes great!!! I will make it again & again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This is a wonderful recipe, I served it when company came over and was surprised when we didn't have any leftovers!!! I roasted my own chicken and I also made my own crusts, which added to the already great taste of the pies. I used frozen baby sweet peas and fresh baby carrots (which I diced pretty small), which gave the meal a naturally rich flavor. Although it took me a bit longer to put together because I did my own chicken and crusts, it's the perfect Sunday dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bshoneybee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
This was quick and very tasty. I didn't have onions or celery so I skipped that step all together. I also did not have any wine and it still was great. Used a top and bottom crust. Will make again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barberton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I was looking for a recipe for chicken potpie that was not made with canned soup. I was so please when I ran across this recipe - IT IS PERFECT. I made just as stated with the exception of adding two minced cloves of garlic. To be honest, I think the garlic was not a good addition and I will not include it next time I make it. (This coming from a garlic lover!) I could taste the sherry in this dish and it just made over-the-top good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARNZ01
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
This is absolutely a great recipe. It lays out the steps of making a roux and when to add fresh veggies or frozen. I doubled the veggies at the begining adding 4 carrots, onion, celery and 3 cloves minced garlic. I also sauted 4 cups of mushrooms until the liquid had evaporated and set them aside to add with the peas. I also added red pepper flakes for some heat to the sauce. Lastly to lighten it up, I used fat free evaporate milk and low sodium broth. I made this in a casserole dish and used Bisquick for the crust. Followed the recipe on the box, 2cups bisquick, 1 cup milk and 1 egg. After 10 min in the oven I brushed it with egg white wash. It turned out beautiful and brown. I let is rest for almost an hour. It was perfect to cut into, maintained its shape. What awesome comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARNZ01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I really enjoyed this recipe! It was so simple to make! It taste better and more hearty than store bought! I included some of the chicken skin, particularly the brown, crispy ones, into the mix for more flavor. I also added a can of no salt added sweet whole kernel corn for more crunch. I substituted the evaporated milk with lowfat 2% evaporated milk. It still tasted delicious and creamy. To save more dishes to wash, I made the white sauce in one saucepan on the stovetop starting with the broth and milk, then added all the rest in order. It came out fine and tasty. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRTNZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caloocan City, National Capital Region, Philippines
Living In: South San Francisco, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Simply the best chicken potpie I have tasted and my family loves it. This is my second time making it and decided to use Sherry Cooking Wine, definitely tasted a lot better than White Wine. I would recommend a bottom and a top crust, but cook the bottom crust for about 5 minutes that way your bottom crust will be more crispy. Also, add a 15 oz can of diced potatoes and cut the frozen vegetables to 1 cup of carrots or corn and 1 cup of peas (if you like them) and I mixed everything in one pot this time and still turned out GREAT!!! Too many dishes last time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Ashley & Whitney's Tip for BBQ Chicken Wings

See an easy way to make sweet-and-spicy BBQ chicken wings.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States