Simple, Classic Chicken Potpie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
This was amazing!! It took me about an hour to do everything, but I didn't do alot of preparation before. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used frozen vegetables and a boxed pie crust. The pie crust was perfect, I just would have prefered fresh veggies. I will make this again and again though...it tasted so delicious, and made a ton of food! We froze the left over inside mix, and I will just have to make a fresh crust :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
simple, classic, fabulous! So easy - and none of that wierd "cream of..." soup taste! I left out the parsley (personal taste), but otherwise followed the recipe exactly and the whole family looooved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
Scrumptious!! The scrawny rotisserie chicken I got only yielded 3 cups of chicken. So only got to make one pie. YUM! I never knew to make that sauce from butter, flour, broth, evap milk and sherry! This is ultimate comfort food. My hubby ate it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leogirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
FANTASTIC! I made this for family/friends last night and got GREAT reviews. One friend who is a known pot pie lover proclaimed this to be the best pot pie he has ever had. I didn't have frozen veggies so used fresh green beans, onion, carrots & celery. I served with salad & fresh dinner rolls. Easy to make, easy to eat and makes great leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
The recipe took quite a long time to make, but it was so worth it. I forgot the sherry. This was my first pot pie ever. I added aome cheese because I thought it would be dry. The cheese was great (swiss) but it would have been perfect without it. Next time I'll remember the sherry. Oh, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Plattsburgh, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
This was great! I made my own crust (top and bottom) and put it in a small casserole dish rather than a pie plate. I used fat free evaporated milk and canned veggies instead of frozen. Oh and I didn't have celery or fresh parsley. My husband said I can make it anytime (he just would have preferred less onions).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Wow.. this is really the best chicken potpie. I followed everything the recipe called for except I sauteed the celery and onions in my drippings from the chicken I roasted..(I used the Juicy Roasted Chicken recipe which I really think made a HUGE difference.. the chicken was phenomenal).. I ended up doubling everything up and freezing the other two pies.. I gave the one pie to my sister-in-law and brother who just had a baby...can't wait to eat em again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
So delicious! Everyone said this was the best pot pie they've had...and I agree..it was so thick and creamy! I used white wine instead of sherry since it's all I had. I stayed 95% true to the recipe. I roasted two chicken breasts on the bone and then cut them up. Since that was only half the amount of chicken the recipe called for I added some small diced potatoes. I poured it all into one 9x9 square glass dish. No other changes, turned out so incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
This is my favorite meal to give to friends when a new baby comes or someone could use an easy dinner. What's best is that it makes 2 so I can keep one and give one away. I've made it several times now and do not vary at all from the recipe. I may try adding the bottom crust sometime, but I do love it as is. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2008
Simply the best chicken potpie I have tasted and my family loves it. This is my second time making it and decided to use Sherry Cooking Wine, definitely tasted a lot better than White Wine. I would recommend a bottom and a top crust, but cook the bottom crust for about 5 minutes that way your bottom crust will be more crispy. Also, add a 15 oz can of diced potatoes and cut the frozen vegetables to 1 cup of carrots or corn and 1 cup of peas (if you like them) and I mixed everything in one pot this time and still turned out GREAT!!! Too many dishes last time. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: New Bloomfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States