Simple, Classic Chicken Potpie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
My family LOVED this recipe! I kept the ingredients the same but doubled the veggies. I also made my own pie crusts and everyone loved this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Shawnigan Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This was a very good pot pie recipe!!! I made my own pie dough and used fresh garlic and carrots . Overall good stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
Awesome dish! As a home ec. teacher, I am going to teach my students to make this very soon. I did make several changes. I boiled chicken breast and chopped it into cubes. The chicken broth that I used was a boxed broth that is made with white wine, so I omitted the extra wine. And I made my own crust - 2 cups self-rising flour, 1.5 cups milk, two sticks of butter - and spread it over the top. Fits perfectly in a 9X13 Pyrex dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
I was looking for a recipe without the bland canned soups in it, and this hit the spot! It was delicious, and my family just about fell off their chairs out of pure joy it was so good! I did add some granulated garlic and oregano to give it additional flavor. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FOODWIZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Del Rio, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Very good. I poached some chicken breasts with celery and sage, and then shredded it. For the veggies, I sauted fresh carrots, mushrooms, and a clove of garlic along with the celery and onion. I added frozen corn and lima beans at the end. I found that my filling was a little thick, so I had to add more broth. I also ended up baking about 15 extra minutes in order to get a nicely browned crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
I forgot to add in the celery and onions and it still turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Hubby is not a pot pie fan, but said this was the best he had ever eaten. I baked my own chicken the day before, and in place of frozen veggies I used one large can of Homestyle Veg-All (large cut veggie mix) and it worked perfectly. I rolled the two pie crusts together to form a rectangle and baked this in a 11 X 15 baking dish instead of 2-9 inch pie pans. It would make a great potluck dish. I might cut back on the thyme a bit next time or maybe add some poultry seasoning; but overall this was a great recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendi Leitzell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
A great way to use left-over Thanksgiving turkey, but too good to only make it once a year! I made one, very full, 12" deep-dish pie. I made my own dough. Next time I'll double the dough so I don't have to roll it so thin to fit the large pie plate. I'll use: 4 cups flour, 1-1/2 teaspoons salt, 1-1/3 cups cold shortening, 3/4 cup ice water or a little less. I diced the celery, carrots, onions and sauteed them. While the flavor was great, the texture was off (my fault.) Next time, I'll chunk the veggies. I didn't have broth, so I made some with water and bouillion. I love the addition of evaporated milk. I added poultry seasonining with the thyme. Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I have made this twice now! Both time it turned out really well! I do put a crust ont he bottome though as well, cooking it as an empty shell a little before adding the filling. I did also use a little different combination of veggies, I used steamed baby carrots, spteamed potato, and canned corn. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I made my own chicken broth by simmering a whole chicken in 8 cups water along with an onion, 2 carrots, a celery stalk, a bay leaf and 5 peppercorns for 1-1/4 hrs. Then I cut up the chicken for the potpie, and it was sooo tender. For the crust, instead of pie dough, I used phyllo. Brushed a few sheets of phyllo with melted butter and then crumpled up each sheet and placed on top of the saucy mixture. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Fiesta-Ready Easy Chicken Enchiladas

Quick and easy creamy chicken enchiladas are sure to be a family favorite.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States