Simple, Classic Chicken Potpie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
LOVE THIS!!! So do my five little fussy ones! Super easy and I love how easy it is! I shared this recipe with my Mom and even my very picky Dad enjoyed it!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
I have made this recipe about 10 times now and it is just perfect. Comes out great every time. The last time I made it I used the leftover turkey and it was delicious. I put half the filling in my pie dish and cover with pie crust and bake and put the remaining filling in the freezer. It is easier to freeze it in a container, take it out defrost it and then put in pie dish, add crust and cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
I will never eat another pot pie again! I have made this several times and its amazing!!! I do make a few changes though...Instead of meat (im a vegetarian) I use portobello mushrooms, always add more spices, add frozen potatoes, and make my own crust from the betty crocker bisquick box. For the crust, I follow the dumplings recipe on the box (just water and bisquick) then I flatten the dough and simply lay it on top of the pot pie, brush with butter, and cook as directed! DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Uncluttered, uncomplicated goodness. As those diners from the 40s used to advertise in neon window lights, "Good Eats"!! The Sherry imparts a subtle sweetness. Knowing this, I used half Chardonnay in place of half the Sherry. I also sprinkled in about 2 tsp fresh lemon juice and laced gently with a tsp of white wine Worcestershire sauce, which lends a lovely depth to the flavor, but is by no means required. Also stirred in one tsp Dijon mustard and some snipped rosemary from the garden. Just lovely. Comfort food, times 10! BTW, if you want to prep it completely the night before, you can do so by simply brushing a thin coating of butter on the bottom crust (to seal the pastry against becoming mushy from the moisture in the filling,) pouring the filling in the sealed crust, topping with the second crust, fluting, covering and refrigerating. Just preheat the oven and bake when you come home from work for a complete, easy, homey dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
I made this last night and it was absolutely delicious! I made it just as the recipe described.... However I used chicken breasts I had in the freezer, thawed them, chopped them up and seasoned them, and pan fryed them until they were almost cooked (since I knew they would be cooked more in the oven). I used white wine as I did not have sherry. I raised the oven temperature to 425 and cooked for only 20 minutes as I had to speed things along since I had to work. ABSOLUTELY DELICIOUS! I since have had two more servings because it is truly a fantastic chicken pot pie recipe! No need to try other recipes again! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I would like to say - this is the best chicken pot pie in the world - My husband does not like chicken pot pie and he loves this... I did change some things...when I cooked the chicken I added salt & pepper, and about 1/2 tsp. poultry seasoning while it was cooking. Once the chicken was done; the cooked chicken juices filled the bowl - I used the juices as part of the sauce (very tasty). Also when I was cooking the onions and celery - I added about 1Tbsp. of flour and cooked for an extra minute. I found that the sauce was watery and I thought by adding the extra tbsp. of flour the onion and celery mixture; it would help thicken it when it was in the oven baking. P.S. DO NOT use dried parsley - it is not the same as using fresh parsley. It turned out perfectly! This is a great meal for a picky crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Invermere, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
This is my first time making pot pie. I used a whole rotisserie chicken, and then made my stock from the carcass instead of buying cans. I also did not use the sherry/wine instead I just added the extra stock in to replace it. I used a bag of mixed veggies instead of just peas/carrots. I made one full size pot pie, and then 4 small personal size pot pies (for the kids) they were a hit! Very yummy. Next time I will make 2 large ones and freeze one as its plenty for my family of 6 if you add a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This was so yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Kids (10&12) loved this! Now I have another to freeze for later so I don't have o stress about dinner, just bake for 1 hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This was the BEST!!! but~~I was surprised there wasn't potatoes in the ingredients, I HAD to have potato, it's not potpie to me without out!! I used fresh carrots and potatoes (steamed to tenderness) and add frozen peas) a tip: put the peas in a strainer and run cold watet over it and let sit, for a few and then add it...u don't get the thaw out liquid and they do stay crunchy instead of mushy. I don't feel I "changed" the recipe at all~~~did just as it called but added potatoes...that's all and it was the best I have ever tasted...THANK YOU FOR THIS WONDERFUL RECIPE, I will make again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewels mother of 2

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 51-60 (of 102) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Ashley & Whitney's Tip for BBQ Chicken Wings

See an easy way to make sweet-and-spicy BBQ chicken wings.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States