Simple, Classic Chicken Potpie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I only topped this with pastry instead of making an entire pie . Family thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I just needed the "sauce part" of the recipe as I ran out of canned soup (my usual way of doing it). Am I glad I tried this, it's so worth the extra effort (not so long to make as I thought). It tastes so much better and the white wine give the sauce a little kick. My changes were that I halved the recipe needing only one pie, and I used the whole can of milk plus 2 onces of water and 1 tsp of chicken granules instead of the broth. I thickened it with about 1tbs of corn starch. My new way of making a pot pie from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I make this recipe ALL the time. Super flavorful (even without the parsley which I never have on hand). I often make this when I'm taking a meal to someone's house because it freezes so well. I find it needs to bake a little longer than an hour though when it's frozen. Also, be sure to cover the edges of your pie crust with foil until the last 10 minutes of baking. This will keep the edges from getting too browned!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I used 2 (15 oz.) packages of pie crusts so the potpies would have a bottom and top crust. I altered the 9 Tablespoons flour to 1/2 cup flour. I also added 8 oz. of fresh sliced mushrooms. Aside from those minor adaptations, I prepared the recipe as written. Turned out yummy. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Awesome recipe. Very detailed instructions and it came out deliciously perfect as is. I might play with the recipe a little more next time but it doesn't really need it at all. Even my picky husband liked it and my son is gobbling it up as I type (daughter is in a picky phase so none for her). Oh and I used shredded chicken from my weekly whole slow cooked chicken with mediterranean spices instead of a rotisserie chicken. yummy yummy yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Lyndsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was an awesome recipe! I cooked it in my cast-iron skillet, and then put biscuits on top instead of a pie crust. I just baked it in the oven in the cast iron skillet and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Eh, I don't know, this was just o.k. for me. I followed the recipe exactly and didn't find anything special about this recipe, not any better than any of the other chicken pot pie recipes I have tried. I might try it one more time but it's not at the top of my list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
so good. I used the fat free evaporated milk and frozen seasoning mix that has celery, onions, and green peppers. I didn't have sherry on hand, and so didn't use it. Still so very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mobile Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Ok first I have to say I have not actually eaten this yet because it is still in the oven. With that being said, I am confident this is going to turn out awesome! The cream sauce was delish! I made a few adjustments out of neccessity only. I used some reserved drippings and water in place of the broth just because I didn't have broth. I also used poultry seasoning instead of thyme because I didn't have any. Other than that I followed the recipe to a T! I am freezing my second pie without the crust and plan to thaw the inside while thawing the crust when I'm ready to use it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
Great recipe! Good flavor, omitted the carrots and finished with puff pastry. Next time I make this, and I will make this again, I will add a little extra sherry! The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States