Simple, Classic Chicken Potpie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I followed this recipe except I used a bottom crust. It turned out looking beautiful and it tasted great too. The only change I would make in the future is to reduce or eliminate the thyme. I wasn't crazy about that flavor, but the rest was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made and froze this for my friend to use when her chaotic life needed it. She just phoned me to rave about it! Her whole family loved it. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Fantastic. No reason to try others. Just follow the recipe! I used fresh veggies but did all else exactly. Sherry is a perfect rich touch. Wow!!!!! Great and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
We liked the recipe, I made it with puff pastry instead of pie dough. Next time I will add potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Although I'm not the world's greatest pot pie fan, I served this to my family and a friend and they thought it was very good. I didn't stray much from the recipe, except I added a bottom crust- partially baking and cooling it beforehand so the crust wouldn't be soggy at the bottom, and I used fresh cut carrots because I prefer them a bit al dente. For the chicken, I used (slightly under) four packages of pre-cooked fresh carved roasted chicken that was on sale, and which saved some time. I appreciated the accuracy of measurements and ingredients of this recipe, which produced balanced flavors, sauce consistency, and exact amount of filling for two generous pies. I gave it four stars based upon 5 reviews at my dinner table: 3@liked it, 2@loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Love this!! I followed some suggestions like adding garlic and the bisquick topper......ummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This recipe is so good! I boiled bone-in chicken breasts and ribs and used the resulting stock for the chicken broth. I cubed some potatos and boiled them in the broth for a few minutes til soft, then removed them to the bowl with the chicken and continued with the recipe. I agree with other reviewers here that this recipe includes a wonderful, rich white sauce - don't change it! I made one pot pie for dinner, and froze the remaining mixture for a future dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I added a little more of the moisture so I could add cubed potatoes. I also used fresh carrots instead of frozen. This is such a good potpie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
I only topped this with pastry instead of making an entire pie . Family thought it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States