Simple, Classic Chicken Potpie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I can't believe I haven't rated this yet. This is, hands down, one of my favorite recipes. Anywhere. I follow it to a "T" and get beaming results. I use a ready made pie crust and store bought rotisserie chicken to cut down on the cook time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
I followed this recipe except I used a bottom crust. It turned out looking beautiful and it tasted great too. The only change I would make in the future is to reduce or eliminate the thyme. I wasn't crazy about that flavor, but the rest was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I made and froze this for my friend to use when her chaotic life needed it. She just phoned me to rave about it! Her whole family loved it. I made it exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Fantastic. No reason to try others. Just follow the recipe! I used fresh veggies but did all else exactly. Sherry is a perfect rich touch. Wow!!!!! Great and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
We liked the recipe, I made it with puff pastry instead of pie dough. Next time I will add potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Although I'm not the world's greatest pot pie fan, I served this to my family and a friend and they thought it was very good. I didn't stray much from the recipe, except I added a bottom crust- partially baking and cooling it beforehand so the crust wouldn't be soggy at the bottom, and I used fresh cut carrots because I prefer them a bit al dente. For the chicken, I used (slightly under) four packages of pre-cooked fresh carved roasted chicken that was on sale, and which saved some time. I appreciated the accuracy of measurements and ingredients of this recipe, which produced balanced flavors, sauce consistency, and exact amount of filling for two generous pies. I gave it four stars based upon 5 reviews at my dinner table: 3@liked it, 2@loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
Love this!! I followed some suggestions like adding garlic and the bisquick topper......ummmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chesterfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This recipe is so good! I boiled bone-in chicken breasts and ribs and used the resulting stock for the chicken broth. I cubed some potatos and boiled them in the broth for a few minutes til soft, then removed them to the bowl with the chicken and continued with the recipe. I agree with other reviewers here that this recipe includes a wonderful, rich white sauce - don't change it! I made one pot pie for dinner, and froze the remaining mixture for a future dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Absolutely delicious! I added a little more of the moisture so I could add cubed potatoes. I also used fresh carrots instead of frozen. This is such a good potpie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Litchfield Park, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

BBQ Chicken Pizza

See how quick and easy it is to make a delicious BBQ chicken pizza.

Creamy Parmesan & Sun-Dried Tomato Chicken Penne

See time-saving tips for a quick-and-easy chicken penne pasta dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States