Simple, Classic Chicken Potpie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
This was very good! I made my own crust mainly because I forgot to buy one when I went to the store. I also halved the recipe to make 2 individual pies which still, for us turned out to be 6 meals. I also couldn't find frozen peas and carrots, so I bought a frozen back of peas, carrots, corn and green beans. I would do that again if I made this again. I really liked the corn in it. All in all, I thought this recipe was easy and delicious. I also was happy to use a recipe that didn't use heavy cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is how my DH rated this recipe. He helped me assemble the ingredients and supervise the seasoning. We halved the recipe and followed it closely except for the additional chicken stock to moisten the filling more (DH likes his sauces). Sadly, we did not have cooking wine but will make sure to add it next time. Used both top and bottom crusts--the bottom crust was soggy since I only baked it for 30 minutes. Will increase baking time next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minda Chow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This is a new favorite.... I didn't had the frozen veggies, just the fresh ones. I chopped and cook what I had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
Fantastic comfort food to the max! I couldn't find my Mum's recipe so I was in search of something similar...found it! :) I did use 2% milk in place of evaporated milk and used all stock. Will be making this again and again. Very down home and wonderful. I did make my own crust with a ration of 1 part flour to 1/4 of butter and 1/4 crisco (by weight) and a dash of salt...My mum's recipe for crust and it's always buttery and flakey. I did do a one pot type of cooking. Did the veggies and instead of heating the milk in the microwave I added the flour to the veggies and cooked for a couple minutes to get rid of the "flour" taste. (the roux) and then added the chicken stock and milk (cold) and stirred briskly then added the chicken back in. Turned out perfect...no lumps. :) Absolutely yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Milligan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uccle, Brussels, Belgium
Living In: Derby, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I'm giving a five and it's still in the oven! I tasted the sauce and it was amazing. I used potatoes, carrots, and celery. I just put the flour on the veggies and sautéed it a few minutes. Faster and works the same. I've never made this with Evaporated milk or wine and the flavor is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
Delicious! The sherry really made this taste amazing! I made my own butter crust, used fresh vegetables that I sauteed, and shredded up a Costco rotisserie chicken. I LOVE this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
Instead of making a pie, I used this to top buttermilk biscuits for an open-faced pot pie. I added garlic powder, ground sage, and was a bit more generous with the white wine. Absolutely delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim Clifton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
My family was very happy with the way this recipe turned out. I used a frozen pie crust because I had one handy and I like a bottom to a pot pie. Also the bag of frozen veggies I had in the freezer also had green beans in it. Still good =) I'm definitely making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
Great recipe! I was out of celery and parsely, but it was still delicious. I did add some rosemary and sage and about a 1/4 cup of cream in place of 1/4 cup of the chicken broth, because I actually did have that! It was wonderful. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
I used dried parsley that I put in at the end, as instructed. I think if I had put them in earlier in cooking, I would have achieved more of the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States