Simple Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 1, 2009
This recipe worked perfect for me. I made gravy on thanksgiving with a random recipe I found online, but it was way too thick after it refrigerated, which means you added too much flour. I eyeballed a half cup of flour and just turned the kitchen faucet on low, continued to drizzle water in small increments, stirring in between, until it got to the not-supposed-to-be pasty texture, and then added just a smidgen more water at a time until it was still thick but no longer pasty. It was the perfect mixture. Also, for the water-to-chicken drippings ratio... I find it works best if you start out with about 2/3 cup to 1 cup of drippings for the amount of flour/water you're adding. AND, make sure you get LOADS of the seasoned bits from the chicken in with your gravy...I used sage, nutmeg and almonds to season my chicken, and stuffed it with this thick creamy mushroom mix I made (package mushrooms, can cream of mushroom, carrots, chili powder, 3 garlic cloves, salt and pepper) so I got remnants of the stuffing in with the gravy mix and it was sooooooooooooooooooo gooood!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
This was really good. I usually botch homemade gravy since I always make it with cornstarch, so was looking for something new. From the drippings of two small roast chickens I added 1 cup of water. Note to reviewers - the roast chickens often go on sale at BJ'S for around 2 bucks a pop. I hadn't measured the drippings. I added about 1/4 cup of flour while whisking but it seemed really too thick. Had to add about 1/2 cup more of water to make it work. Had some red while, so added a coupla ounces of that too, lots of salt and pepper to taste. It made a nice rich gravy. Thanks for the basic instruction which is what many of us need! I am done with jarred gravy now that I can do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Morpeth, Northumberland, England, U.K.
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
This gravy is really good. I made exactly as written and didn't find the flour to be too much. My roasted chicken was seasoned very well, so I only need to add a little more salt and pepper after the gravy was done. If I have any leftover, I keep the leftover gravy to make a second meal out of it and the leftover chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blue-eyes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Super easy, you definitely don't need all the flour about 1/4 cup will do and I drizzled it in till I was content with the thickness. The better seasoned your chicken is the better your gravy will be. I have followed a ton of gravy recipes and this one is a no fail recipe to follow. Bon Apetite !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2008
Looks like great minds DO think alike! This is exactly how I make my gravy! The best part is that it works with any baked/roasted meat/poultry. As long as you can catch the drippings, you can make an awesome gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Ok for people that are commenting that the gravy dont have any taste your chicken must not! This is a great recipe. This is what I do! melt a stick of butter. Brush it all over the chicken. Sprinkle chicken with garlic powder, italian seasoning and lawrys seasoned salt. ONLY A LITTLE OF THE SEASONING SALT! now that is how your gravy will have flavor! ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
Too much flour, try 1/4 c. But still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Great, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2008
I really really liked my gravy, for the first time! Because the seasoning from my chicken (just salt and poultry seasoning) had already flavored the drippings, I didn't have to add much -- just a little more salt and some pepper. Making the gravy in the roasting pan worked great, and if I can make gravy that's good absolutely anyone can. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2007
I appreciate this recipe. I have been 'winging' it with gravy (pardon the pun) for some time and it has been close to what I want. Using the consistency of water/flour verses the drippings (I had 1.5 cups minus the fat and did not use the fat) I use the amt of the flour water mixture until it is the consistency that works for me. Thanks for the recipe. I never did know the ratio!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States