Simple Chicken Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
Used half the flour and add 1/2 tsp Kitchen Bouquet OR Gravy Master to make this gravy perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amb1580

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Horn Lake, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I gave this four stars because the flour measurement is very off. I always read reviews so I knew to change. I used about 1/4 cup and 1 tablespoon and it was still a little thicker than I like my gravy. Great flavor though and if you feel the gravy was too bland then it's because you didn't season your roast well. The gravy comes directly from your drippings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookE86

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
I cook by instinct too, am a verrry good cook but somehow have always been afraid of gravy...as tho there was some great mystery to it..this was soooo easy..sooo great...thanks...I will NEVER buy canned or jarred gravy again! BTW..went by eye...and instinct!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
My boyfriend and I did not have luck with this. We didn't add very much flour in the beginning (about half) and it looked thick. It tasted greasy and flavorless. After adding even more flour and seasoning, it lightened in color, had an ok taste but still had the greasy aftertase.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Perfect! I had a larger chicken (6 pounds) so I used slightly more water, but not double and enough flour to thicken it (I ran out of flour and substituted corn starch for the rest) Seasoned with salt, pepper, and a pinch of red pepper and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Tasted exactly like my mom's thanksgiving gravy. My husband said it was the best he'd ever tasted!! I had about 1/2 cup of pan drippings and added an additional 1 cup of chicken stock. Used a little less than 1/2 cup of flour and about 1/2 cup of water to thicken. Tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinmamma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Simple, basic gravy recipe. I followed everyone's advice and only added 1/3 cup of flour. It worked wonderful! Would use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Wahiawa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
Excellent basic recipe. . . . .I followed the recommendations of other reviewers and used chicken broth instead of water, it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
My husband loved it, tasted just "like Mom's"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
I like the ease of this, but it needs a little work. I'm not a gravy expert, though... It seemed like too much flour, too much water, not enough seasoning, and I didn't understand the directions. I put the chicken drippings in a pot, mixed the water and flour in a separate container and then slowly added the flour mixture to the drippings over medium heat. I added garlic and onion powders, paprika, salt, pepper, hot sauce and a dash of soy sauce and it was still bland... so I added half a cube of beef bouillion and that made it better. I'll just have to play around with it some more until I get it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fondukes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Chicken Breasts with Chipotle Gravy

See how to make pan-seared chicken breasts in a chipotle and green onion gravy.

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States