Simple Chicken Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Yum, Yum, Yummy!! My kids absolutely loved this and keep asking me to make it again! I did not have kosher salt, but used table salt but only 1/2 of what the recipe calls for and it was perfect. Will definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
great brine! I have to say I have never brined before. I have always wanted to, but always forgot. I was making a rotisserie chicken and wanted to brine and see what a difference it made. It sure did! The breast meat was very juicy! I used just enough water to cover my whole chicken in a plastic container. I didnt get to brine the full 4 hours, only 2 1/2. But like I said, it still made a great difference in the meat! Thanks for your recipe! I will use again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Indiana, USA
Living In: Moores Hill, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Simple and easy and the chicken is great - so tender! Perfect for someone with no teeth (my 10 month old daughter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This really gave the chicken a super taste and moisture. I want to try it again and add some of my own little touches to it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clayville, New York, USA
Living In: Westmoreland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This is so good. I usually loosen the skin all around on a whole chicken before brining it, and then roast it rotisserie style. The skin comes out crisp, and the chicken fall off the bone tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I've brined a few chickens and turkeys, and before you cook it, YOU NEED TO RINSE IT. Then your bird won't be too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
510 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by priscilla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Manhattan, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
If using table salt or canning salt use half of what is called for if kosher is listed in recipe. I have unintentionally brined a whole chicken for over 24 hrs (when dinner plans changed) and it was not over salted or mushy. I also do not rinse my birds after brining and have not noticed any effects. To make sure the salt and sugar disolve I fill a half gallon container about half full with the warmest water I can get out of the tap. Add salt and sugar, stir until disolved. Add ice to container, stir to cool water down. Strain ice if desired and fill container to bring to 1gal then add soy and other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
176 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
Hi..good recipe I used canning salt[canning salt is the only salt you should use in brine except if you can get purified salt] and 2 teasp. hickory liquid smoke..it turn out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Murdock, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I was always told to rinse chicken thoroughly after brineing or it will taste too salty. This is a nice simple brine but I use cold tap water when mixing. No point in adding herbs and spices to brine as I will be rinsing them away before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durand, Michigan, USA
Living In: Morrice, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
This is a really good brine. I used it on a 6 pound chicken and it made the chicken really good. I used a gallon of cold water and added some minced onions and soaked it for 4 hours. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Pickle Brine Chicken

A pickle juice brine results in moist, delicious grilled chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States