Simple Chicken Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Makes a very tender chicken- mild taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPAULDIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I put the salt in the water first, tasting it to make sure the brine will not be too salty. Then I put in soy sauce, brown sugar, olive oil and some herbs. I then brined the chicken for 20 hours. The next day when I got home from work, I rinsed the chicken before grilling it together with some veggies to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, turning the chicken upside down mid baking. It turns out juicy and tender. Great simple recipe and technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erzam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kajang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I always always use. This simple brine. I never rinse it off,have often brined for longer than 24 hours when plans changed and I use Lizzie's roasted chicken recipe (google it) on food and wine.com everyone loves all the favors. I save all the juices and pick it clean at least whats left and freeze for soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We followed recipe. Let it set overnight. Rinsed it. Smoked the chicken for 6 hours. The best chicken we've ever had. Super juicy and tender. We are making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I brined four pounds of chicken thighs and drumsticks for an hour and half. I gave it a quick rinse,air dried the meat for a few minutes then rubbed a paste of equal parts garlic and onion powder,1/8 tsp of ground chili peppers and about 1/8 tsp nutmeg moistened with 2 tablespoons canola oil. Browned on all sides then baked in a 350 F oven for one hour,it proved very tender and flavorful,but I thought it a tad too salty. Maybe I'll rinse it more next time or else reduce the brining time for pieces to 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Amazing! Afterwards I seperated the skin from the chicken with my fingers and added some garlic butter under the skin and on top. Baked at 450 for 1 hr 20 mins and pure wonder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Excellent and easy to make and use! Followed others advice and after mixing in salt and sugar in the warm water and it was dissolved, added the chicken and lots of icecubes to keep it safe from bacteria temperatures. My chicken wasn't salty at all and I let it brine in the fridge overnight. Also, it baked just right, not soggy or falling apart. Was just right! I put the 5 # chicken (covered in foil with a small opening to let out steam) in a 275*oven for 2 hours while we were at church, then when I got home turned oven to 350* and removed the foil and it was picture perfect in about 1 to 1/2 hours or so. I reduced the amount of salt my roast chicken recipe called for since this brined all night in salt water. FABULOUS! By the way, I used the Simply Lemon Baked Chicken from this website. Impressive and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I cooked a 6 lb chicken following this recipe almost exactly, and It was a huge success! The meat was juicy and fell right off the bone, I think I might try a variation of this on a turkey for Thanksgiving using a little Worcestershire sauce as well as the soy. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Say goodbye to dried out chicken! I marinated thighs and breasts for 4 hours, then proceeded with a recipe I had. BBQ'd and the chicken turned out lovely - even the kids said it was good. Do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Placentia, California, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
You can vary the amount of salt to suit the time you have to brine the bird. If you want to brine it overnight, reduce the salt and soy sauce to allow for a longer brining time. The less salty the brine, the longer the bird can stay submerged without losing texture or quality. I have brined poultry in as little as two tablespoons of kosher salt dissolved into the amount of water that it takes to cover the parts or whole bird in a zip-top gallon storage bag in the frig. But, I do brine for several hours when the brine is less potent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States