Simple Chicken Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
The Brine sounds awesome but as a word of caution. You should chill the brine before adding the chicken. The temp of the chicken will rise above 42 when added to the room temp brine and it will begin to grow bacteria. If the brine and chicken doesn't drop back below 42 degrees after an hour in the brine it has the potential to make you sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: North Richland Hills, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
This was my first time using the brine method. It is unbelievable how moist my beer can chicken turned out on my kamado cooker. I definitely will be using this method.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Oil doesn't do anything for a brine. Never put oil in your brine. All you need to know to make your brine your own is the ratio of salt to water. It's 1cup kosher salt per gallon or half that amount for regular table salt(1/2 cup) per gallon. This will make a pretty salty brine however so for my taste, I use half this amount when I brine my meats. You don't need to add pepper or sugar to a simple brine. You just need salt and clean water. If you do want to make a sweet brine then I suggest you use brown sugar or honey, 1 cup per gallon or to your own taste. My general brine is 1/2 cup kosher salt, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1 tablespoon garlic powder per gallon. It's perfectly salty, savory, and slightly sweet. My meat always comes out great. If you're going to go through the trouble, do all of your brining over night..it's always better. Depending on what I cook I might add something extra. For instance, for chicken I will add sage to the brine. Same with Turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glen Killian

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
This is not a review of your "brined chicken". This is only a complain about your video site for how to make the brine. The volume of the "back-ground" music is so laud that the explanation of how to make the brine is understandable. The "back-ground" music is twice as laud as the lady making the brine explanation. please, correct this when editing this ad. Thanks walter_17786@ msn.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Juan, San Juan, Puerto Rico
Living In: Bartow, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Great brine. I use it all the time now. Flavorful but not overpowering. Make sure you don't use table salt. Use canning or kosher salt. I use cold water though. Everything still dissolves fine. I just don't want to warm up poultry before putting it in my cooler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
Very juicy and tasty chicken, and not salty (and I don't rinse the chicken either). My husband was skeptical of "that thing in the bucket in the fridge" but liked the results. I then switched out the 3/4 c soy sauce for 1/2 c each lemon juice and apple cider vinegar and switched the oil with 1 c homemade BBQ sauce (recipe made with ACV, molasses, butter, garlic, onion and lots of spices for a kick). Even better BBQ'd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Royer Franks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rio Linda, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was my first time using a brine, my chicken turned out great! Nice and juicy! I used lite soy sauce. I was a little worried about the soy sauce making it salty, but it wasn't salty at all. After roasting the skin was nice and crispy and I didn't let it sit in the fridge for 1 hour like some of the other reviewers mentioned. I will definitely use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
This makes for a flavorful chicken without much effort, but it's too soy sauce-y for my taste. Next time I'll try apple cider vinegar in place of the soy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
I have only recently started making a brine for turkey and chicken. This recipe was simple but it turned out great (better than the complicated turkey brine I made). I used table salt (did not see the other reviews before making the brine and I adjusted the recipe for a serving for four) and added fresh ground pepper. I let the chicken sit in the brine for four hours, rinsed it (as I was afraid it would be too salty - thank you for the review stating to do this!), and then barbecued it. It was delicious and juicy. I also added ice to cool the brine before immersing the chicken. I will definitely use this as a base for any brine in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Pickle Brine Chicken

A pickle juice brine results in moist, delicious grilled chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States