Simple Chicken Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
Delicious! I would have given it five stars but it was a little too salty for our taste. Will make again but cut back to half the salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
Really good brine. Made my grilled chicken really moist and juicy without being overwhelming. NOTE: You cannot use table salt or it will be too salty. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VICTORIAJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Charles, Illinois, USA
Living In: Klamath Falls, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2008
Simple and really good, no fancy ingredients. This is now my only brine recipe, because it works so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
Really good and really easy! The chicken was sooooo tender. However, if you plan to cook your chicken in a slow cooker, you're going to need to shorten your cooking time if you brine. Otherwise, the chicken will just fall apart. I was worried that the soy sauce would overpower it but not at all. Everyone loved it and said it was their favorite so far. I cook a chicken about once a week and am always trying different recipes. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
648 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
MADE THE CHICKEN SOOO JUICY! Turned the meat kinda pink too, it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aja Ruiz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Brea, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I also had complaints that it was too salty. I don't know if cutting back on the salt would help or not since soy sauce has such a high sodium content. Sorry, not a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I doubled the recipe and used it on a 12lb turkey for Christmas dinner. My meat thermometer was off and I ended up cooking the bird for 6+ hours at 325 thinking it wasn't done yet. This brine saved the day. The turkey remained so moist! Disaster averted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
The basis for this is good, but in my opinion whole chickens should be brined for 1-2 hours in cold water. Longer than that and you'll take up too much salt. Also when cooking, consider stuffing the body cavity with onions, apples, and other high moisture things and the chicken will come out super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
427 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nox

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This is a great foundation kind of recipe. You can add your own touch. I agree with Nox,COLD is the way to go. I used brown sugar,garlic and onion powder. A few shakes of crushed red pepper, added a little kick.I will never roast another chicken, turkey etc. without brining it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keia Lockley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
Nice brine. Worked well for smoked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hickory, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Chef John's Spelt Pizza Dough

See how to make a gluten-free pizza crust!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States