Simple Chicken Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Didn't have kosher salt so I used sea salt instead. Turned out excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Velez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Fort Belvoir, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
I used on a 5 pound whole chicken. It really made for a tender bird, almost too tender. Next time I will leave in brine for about 4 hours instead of the 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nolagyrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I always do my brine differently and decided to review this one and it was no where near as good as the one I already use. I always add whole peppercorns, herbs, salt, garlic, sugar, etc and no oil to a stock pot filled with water and then I bring it to a boil, let it cool in an ice bath until very cold, then add the chicken to it and leave in fridge for 24 hours, I flip the chicken after 12 hours. I always rinse my chicken before roasting, but I also add a pinch of salt, pepper, and lemon juice or chicken broth poured over the chicken in pan. I always preheat oven to 400 degrees and lower temp to 350 after putting in the chicken, and add 10-15min cooking time to make sure skin is crispy because using a brine softens the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
Placed a whole chicken in the brine overnight and roasted it in the oven the next day with just a little bit of pepper sprinkled on and it came out tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Easy and simple brine. I let sit for 24 hours in the fridge. I use a standard rub with a rotiserre on a Weber grill with indirect heat. Comes out juicy and GREAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Republic, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I LOVED it!!!! The kids raved about the chicken all night. I substituted the sugar for agave nectar and omited the soy sauce. The chicken came out so tender and juicy!!! Thanks and I WILL be brining another chicken SOON!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doublellm76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Fontana, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Tasty and simple. I would rinse it as suggested before. I have also used Bragg's amino acids instead of soy sauce. (It is soy based, less sodium) It really does help keep the chicken moist when BBQ'ing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Louisville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Great flavor. Tried this out for my first attempt to use my new smoker. Chicken was moist, very flavorful. I kept the bird in the brine longer than directed but I was really pleased with the finished product and so did my friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
I added 1/3 cup Balsamic vinegar, 1/3 cup Worcestershire, 2 tbls. garlic powder, 2 tbls. onion power and 1 cup brown sugar. Marinated 24 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
We scale the recipe down to "1 serving" most of the time. It works great on chicken breasts to keep them tender before putting them on the grill. We usually pound the chicken breasts first to make them thinner, which also helps with even cooking. Great, simple, brine recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Pickle Brine Chicken

A pickle juice brine results in moist, delicious grilled chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States