Simple Chicken Brine Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and it was delicious. The chicken was very moist and had a good flavor. I did use cold water instead of warm which diddn't seem to make a difference. Also I took it out an hour before I wanted to cook it and rinsed it off, lined it on a baking sheet, and placed it uncovered for one hour in the refrigerator. To help the skin get crispier when it baked. I also took the advice of some of the reviews and added brown suger, onion powder, garlic powder, and warchestier sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I have used this recipe for a couple of years...and I add crushed garlic and a bit of hot Serrano peppers. I buy organic free range chickens and this brine makes them juicy and tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
I used this with skinless drumsticks and then fried as I normally would. My husband said it was the best I've made so far and that while it still wasn't like what his mother used to make (ARRRGGHH), he would like to have it again. I thought it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2013
Makes a very tender chicken- mild taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPAULDIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Liverpool, New York, USA
Living In: Oswego, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I put the salt in the water first, tasting it to make sure the brine will not be too salty. Then I put in soy sauce, brown sugar, olive oil and some herbs. I then brined the chicken for 20 hours. The next day when I got home from work, I rinsed the chicken before grilling it together with some veggies to 350 degrees Fahrenheit, turning the chicken upside down mid baking. It turns out juicy and tender. Great simple recipe and technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erzam

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Kajang, Selangor, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
I always always use. This simple brine. I never rinse it off,have often brined for longer than 24 hours when plans changed and I use Lizzie's roasted chicken recipe (google it) on food and wine.com everyone loves all the favors. I save all the juices and pick it clean at least whats left and freeze for soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
We followed recipe. Let it set overnight. Rinsed it. Smoked the chicken for 6 hours. The best chicken we've ever had. Super juicy and tender. We are making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by twinmom

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I brined four pounds of chicken thighs and drumsticks for an hour and half. I gave it a quick rinse,air dried the meat for a few minutes then rubbed a paste of equal parts garlic and onion powder,1/8 tsp of ground chili peppers and about 1/8 tsp nutmeg moistened with 2 tablespoons canola oil. Browned on all sides then baked in a 350 F oven for one hour,it proved very tender and flavorful,but I thought it a tad too salty. Maybe I'll rinse it more next time or else reduce the brining time for pieces to 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Piscataway, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Amazing! Afterwards I seperated the skin from the chicken with my fingers and added some garlic butter under the skin and on top. Baked at 450 for 1 hr 20 mins and pure wonder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Excellent and easy to make and use! Followed others advice and after mixing in salt and sugar in the warm water and it was dissolved, added the chicken and lots of icecubes to keep it safe from bacteria temperatures. My chicken wasn't salty at all and I let it brine in the fridge overnight. Also, it baked just right, not soggy or falling apart. Was just right! I put the 5 # chicken (covered in foil with a small opening to let out steam) in a 275*oven for 2 hours while we were at church, then when I got home turned oven to 350* and removed the foil and it was picture perfect in about 1 to 1/2 hours or so. I reduced the amount of salt my roast chicken recipe called for since this brined all night in salt water. FABULOUS! By the way, I used the Simply Lemon Baked Chicken from this website. Impressive and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mariegg

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Macon, Georgia, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Chicken Brine

An easy brine that makes roast chicken tender and super moist.

How to Make Chicken Stock

See how to make flavorful chicken stock in five simple steps.

Pickle Brine Chicken

A pickle juice brine results in moist, delicious grilled chicken breasts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States