Simple Chicken and Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This recipe is very simple and absolutely delicious! My kids and husband loved it! I would consider myself an average cook. The recipe was very easy to follow. One thing I like is cooking a whole chicken on high in a crock pot about 4-5 hours with 6 cups chicken broth. The broth comes out full of flavor. I would not change anything else about this recipe it was perfect. My husband even said the noodles I made reminded him of his moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
Just like my grandma makes! Thank you for posting. It's perfect. Note for those who don't know, this is more like a gravy consistency (flavored mostly by pepper) and used much the same. Also great served at any potluck, Thanksgiving family buffet, or with any poultry! Pure comfort food :) I can eat it alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sandwich, Illinois, USA
Living In: Geneva, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This is just like Grandma and Mom used to make. The only thing I do differently is use low sodium chicken broth and I throw in large chunks of celery, onion and carrot, sprig of thyme and rosemary to season it up. I strain those out later. The hand made noodles are really what makes this special. I have done it with store-bought but it's not the same. These noodles are easy, even for novices. Growing up we always ate this over mashed potatoes, and that is what I still do! It's delicious comfort food at it's best. Takes me back to childhood. That's what this one is all about for me. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
Very good! Just like my mother-in-law's. Next time I think I will add some chicken builion cubes for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Scottsbluff, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Best chicken noodles I have ever tasted in my life! Your grandmother must have been a great lady! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Just like Chicken and Noodles should be! Easy recipe and absolutely delicious, I think some people are expecting this to be a soup recipe but this is something completely different. I always serve this over mashed potatoes and always get rave reviews. This recipe is the same one my great-grandma used and is soo comforting. Also, DO NOT put this in a crockpot when first making as the broth needs to be hot enough for the noodles to form, if not they will just turn gummy. Great recipe Clara!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This recipe brings back memories of being raised on the farm. On Saturday evening my Baba would behead a chicken & throw it in the pot for Sunday dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Romyko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Simple and delicious. My 7 year old niece made the noodles with my supervision.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
I have never made homemade noodles before and have don't recall eating any besides store bought. My husband said they turned out like his grandmother's. They were easy to make, I don't think I let them dry quite long enough. Next time I will start early in the morning. I didn't use chicken, I used beef which I cooked in a crock pot with beef broth and a little red wine. I cooked the noodles in a seperate pan with beef broth and than added the crock pot meat and juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Zionsville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
With really old-time recipes comes the good and the bad. Homemade noodles are very very good. The bad part is, these cooks didn't know...or didn't have...the things that make a dish like this excellent. I would never make this without adding onion, celery, black pepper, and thyme...and usually carrots too. These things make the broth taste like a million bucks. So if you're putting the considerable time into making this, it's definitely worth a few more minutes to chop some veggies...and it's better for you. Oh, and for those watching their fat intake, just skim any fat off the top with a big spoon, and discard it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SEWVERYTALL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Simple Whole Roasted Chicken

See how to make a simple roasted chicken that’s very moist and flavorful.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States