Simple Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Made these last night for my two grandsons, ages 8 & 11. They could live off cheese if you'd let them. This was a tremendous hit with them. I have a feeling we will be making a lot of these until the new wears off. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Roach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metamora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
These had great taste and texture but the reason for only four stars is that I could not get the ingredients to come together where I could form a ball, let a lone a "snake". So I added about 1/3 c of soya margarine to the mix and it came together perfectly. I also added about a tablespoon of Dijon mustard for some extra flavour. Everyone enjoyed them very much. I will make this again but probably use half and half margarine from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Had to add water to be able to work with the dough. Also added a little tabasco and granulated garlic for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Allen-Kerr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Didn't work for me even after adding more flour, butter and a little water. Way too much cheese, too little of other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
its was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Easy to make, especially if forced through a cookie press instead of rolled out. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
There is one ingredient missing. I have made these for years adding 1 egg YOLK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Is there an ingredient missing? Did not rise, cheese started to burn at 6 min. Tasted like cheese and flour. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
awful!i have nothing more to say. don't waste your time and money on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I added some spices to mine---paprika, and a little parmesan cheese. I also added a few tablespoons of water and a little more flour. We rolled them out like snakes. Also, I think the ratio of flour to cheese is off in this recipe, so I added a little more cheese. I think the secret here is to make a workable dough. If your dough is not workable, add more flour, or if its too dry, add a sprinkling of water. A little baking powder helps them not be so flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States