Simple Cheese Straws Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Made these last night for my two grandsons, ages 8 & 11. They could live off cheese if you'd let them. This was a tremendous hit with them. I have a feeling we will be making a lot of these until the new wears off. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Roach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vernon, Illinois, USA
Living In: Metamora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
These had great taste and texture but the reason for only four stars is that I could not get the ingredients to come together where I could form a ball, let a lone a "snake". So I added about 1/3 c of soya margarine to the mix and it came together perfectly. I also added about a tablespoon of Dijon mustard for some extra flavour. Everyone enjoyed them very much. I will make this again but probably use half and half margarine from the start.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
Had to add water to be able to work with the dough. Also added a little tabasco and granulated garlic for added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Allen-Kerr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
Didn't work for me even after adding more flour, butter and a little water. Way too much cheese, too little of other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
its was perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pembroke Pines, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
Easy to make, especially if forced through a cookie press instead of rolled out. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
There is one ingredient missing. I have made these for years adding 1 egg YOLK
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Is there an ingredient missing? Did not rise, cheese started to burn at 6 min. Tasted like cheese and flour. I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
awful!i have nothing more to say. don't waste your time and money on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
I added some spices to mine---paprika, and a little parmesan cheese. I also added a few tablespoons of water and a little more flour. We rolled them out like snakes. Also, I think the ratio of flour to cheese is off in this recipe, so I added a little more cheese. I think the secret here is to make a workable dough. If your dough is not workable, add more flour, or if its too dry, add a sprinkling of water. A little baking powder helps them not be so flat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Cheese Sticks

See how to make easy, cheesy, crispy cheese sticks.

Nacho Cheese Sauce

See how to make a simple, ballpark-style cheese sauce for tortilla chips.

Inside-Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich

Discover the technique that makes the cheesiest grilled cheese sandwiches ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States