Simple Carnitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 6, 2014
So tender and tasty. I followed the recipe (adding a few more garlic cloves) and loved the outcome. Yes, it was a bit salty, but in a good way. I may reduce the salt a scootch next time, although the saltiness settled down the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Very good carnita recipe. I used all the ingredients, but cooked in the crockpot. I liked the taste of the oranges in this and also think lime would be a interesting flavor to try. I served this with 'Peppered Cilantro Rice' and 'Orange-Glazed Asparagus'. Thanks for sharing your recipe, Ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Perfect as is! My family LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Compliments are always abundant when I make this dish! I cook it in the crock pot on low for 8-10 hours to make it a little easier on myself and it turns out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This has been on my list of recipes to try for years, and I've been missing out! Delicious! My daughter had to make a Spanish recipe for class, and we decided to do this--plus my friends and I were having a party where Mexican food was on the menu--double duty! We made this twice in one week and LOVED the flavors of the pork. Serve it on corn tortillas with shredded cabbage, tomatoes, & Amy's cilantro cream sauce (recipe from Allrecipes) and it was FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Excellent! I made this in a crockpot using 1 small onion and one orange (only because I have a small crockpot and couldn't really fit more than that), and reduced the salt by about half. I probably added about 2 cups of water - not enough to cover, since I was cooking this in the crockpot. The pork was so tender and delicious - exactly like Ken's review where it's seasoned, but not strongly flavored. In fact, I used about a third of the pork to make sweet and sour pork tonight, and there was no conflict of flavors at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
I live in South Florida, home to some amazing Mexican/Cuban restaurants and Carnitas is one of my favorite. This is a great recipe that a made as written a couple times and have since finish tweaking (after a couple years of trying) to match what we get down here and it's pretty close. 1. I juice the oranges as I found cooking with the rind adds a bit of a bitter taste. 2. Added 2 seeded and halved jalapenos (this does not make it spicy because the seeds are removed, just adds flavor). 3. Added a bunch of cilantro (I wrap/tie the cilantro, peppercorns, garlic and bay leaves in cheese cloth. this makes the skimming easier and the peppercorns wont get stuck in the meat chunks, which happened for me). 4. Added a 10 oz bottle of Sour Orange (Badia or similar, usually found in ethnic section of food market). 5. Finally our Carnitas are served crispy. I break into smaller chunks (instead of shredding) and fry in a little canola oil in a cast iron skillet on high heat so the outsides get crispy. Serve with warm tortillas and crumbled Quesa Fresco (white Mexican) cheese. One more TIP.... IMPORTANT TO COOL AND STORE IN THE LIQUID UNTIL YOU USE (I make the day before and refrigerate over night. This keeps the meat moist. I ALWAYS make extra, freeze the meat IN THE JUICE and it stays moist and delicious! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gregoryz

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
I've made this several times and my family and friends LOVE it! I always use at least a 5 lb roast to get tons of payoff for the work and time involved. I sear my chunks of roast in a hot pan before adding to a crockpot and cook for ~7 hours. Meat is always fall apart tender and so delicious. My newest innovation is to use the carnitas meat in tamales. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOTQUITEMARTHA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Wow, Wow, Wow. This smelled amazing all day (I put it in the crockpot) and it turned out incredible, the whole family was raving about it. I did add half a lime and cut the Kosher Salt to 1/8 Cup, but other than that followed the recipe to a T. I did not add any liquid since I cooked it in the crock. The pork fell right apart. Thank You Ken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
The pork was excellent after it had been simmering for 1-1/2 hours. After it cooled in the broth for an hour, it turned incredibly salty. I would recommend skipping that last part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pressure Cooker Carnitas

This pork is moist and flavorful, great for a taco bar.

Simple Ham and Squash Spaghetti

See how to make creamy smoked ham and butternut squash spaghetti.

Simple Beef Pot Roast

See how to make the world’s easiest pot roast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States