Simple Caramel Apple Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Well.. I read this recipe and thought, "It sounds like plain pork chops with plain cooked apples on top." And that's nearly what it was like. I made it again and tweaked it quite a bit. I salted and peppered the pork chops before browning them, which boosted their flavor. I also wasn't crazy about the texture of the chops right against the apples with no buffer, so I ended up topping the chops with a quick bread stuffing (sweat 1/4 cup each minced onion and celery in 2/3 stick butter, add 1 torn loaf cuban bread, 1/2 tsp. thyme and rosemary, and 1 cup chicken stock), then topped the chops AND stuffing with apples and pecans. As written, I just wasn't crazy about the recipe (sorry!), but I would make it again with these tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
Wonderful! My husband really wanted a sweet pork chop dish like the one he eats at a roadhouse around here. The apples were so tender and succulent! We ended up grilling the pork chops and doing the sauce and the apples separately. I also doubled the brown sugar and butter to make more caramel sauce. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATED123005

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I made it with less pork and only one apple (for two people), but the same amount of sauce. Melt-in-your-mouth goodness. Didn't have pecans on hand, but I bet the crunch would be the perfect touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2006
An excellent and forgiving recipe. I accidentally added the pecans to the brown sugar and cooked all, but still it was delicious (if not as crunchy as it might have been otherwise). My husband liked this recipe - simply, it's comfort food. One note, I was only making dinner for two, but found we ate all the topping. Might double it for four.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Sorry for poor grades, but this recipe just didn't cut it. I mean, don't get me wrong, apples and pork are a match made in heaven, but this is more of a dessert, really! Drizzle with melted choc and you have instant winner with kids. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZatriX

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
These were very good. I tripled the sauce (but not the apples) with only 3 chops and barely had enough sauce. At least triple the sauce if not quadruple. But overall...delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
My kids love this one, dad thinks it's too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KENDRAJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2009
I loved this. Its very easy. As suggested by others, I doubled the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Callahan, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
You could eat this by itself as a desert. It is delicious. I cooked it seperately from the pork chops and sprayed the apples with I Can't Believe It's Not Butter spray instead of using real butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
Wow I REALLY wanted to like this but just didn't. WAY too sweet. Smelled great but my husband actually asked "are you cooking sugar? smells like it." The sauce would be GREAT on ice cream... not so much on pork from what we tasted. Sorry I hate to give not so positive reviews. I'm sure a lot of my recipies need more sugar for some... but wow, this was SO sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pork Chops with Apple Cider Glaze

An incredibly simple and delicious pork chop recipe for the fall.

Pork Chops with Apples

Learn how to make delicious pork chops with sweet potatoes and sauteed apples.

Chef John's Smothered Pork Chops

See how to make simple pan-fried pork chops smothered in deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States