Simple Broiled Grapefruit Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
To Hilarybear - As a kid, my Mum made this for us. My Dad loved grapefruit. She used to slice the segments and then all around the outside first and then cook it. Made it easier to eat. They also make grapefruit spoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This took me back to my childhood. My mom would make this on special mornings and I thought it was wonderful. Still do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
I love this simple recipe. I used brown sugar splenda and added a dash of pumpkin spice. If you don't have the pumpkin spice, add cinnamon or nutmeg. Yes, this recipe can be messy but very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Colonial Heights, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Excellent. I like small pats of butter before the brown sugar and cinnamon. I also separate the segments with a grapefruit knife first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mizzip51

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Custar, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
I tried this recipe and it was divine. I found it in the Jewish Sicilian Cookbook by Pamela Hensley Vincent. Add 2 pats of butter and then sprinkle on the brown sugar! MMMMmmmmmm! My kids even went crazy for it. It is a great breakfast or dessert treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by travelfoodfun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
With added butter, it would be an easy 5 stars! You can also add butter and whatever spices you like to the brown sugar and pop it in the microwave for a minute. Quick and so good on a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
I've made this since 7th grade. Our home economics teacher taught us, but it also had butter underneath the brown sugar.... Try that... it's even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Blevens McKee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Lakewood, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I made this last night, but I was out of brown sugar so I used regular white sugar, which it didn't turn out like I thought it would. So I went to the store and bought more grapefruits and brown sugar. This time I put brown sugar, cinnamon and a tiny splash of vanilla. Turned out so much better! I think this recipe is super simple so we can add our own touches to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
simple and good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marblehead, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Use honey instead of sugar much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broiled Parmesan-Lemon Tilapia

Quick and easy tilapia fillets are broiled with a creamy Parmesan crust.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States