Simple Beef Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Like most others who reviewed this recipe, I made same additions to the original. As is, it's a good place to start. I added a chopped onion and tsp of chopped garlic to the beef as it browned. Then I added about 1 1/2 cups of chopped cremini mushrooms. (I had purchased a large pkg at Costco and needed to use them up!) I took the advice of several other reviewers and added about 2 tsp of Worcestershire Sauce to the mixture. At that point it was smelling pretty good, so I continued with more of the advice I had read here and added 1 cup of beef bouillon. Next, I added a generous splash of white wine and then the can of mushroom soup. I let it simmer while I prepared the noodles. I didn't have egg noodles but I did have linguine which I snapped in half before I threw it in the boiling water. WHen the noodles were almost done, I added the sour cream to the meat mixture. I had been tasting this periodically and it was so much more tasty than it looked (grey food really is not that appealing!). So, like another reviewer, I threw in some frozen green peas. I let it simmer a little longer, until the peas were hot and then served it over the noodles in pasta bowls. My husband and 16-year-old step son gobbled it up. It was delicious! Thanks, Brenda for the original and to the other reviewers for their suggestions. It was a "village" approach to cooking a great dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always Smilin'

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay Roberts, Newfoundland, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ivette Cardona Ruelle
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
Awesome, but i did add 1 cup of beef broth...didnt use sour cream..forgot. But it was so good. OMG! So good. But a bag of noodles is 12 oz. Makesure you know how many oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
My fiancé loves this stroganoff. He says it's better than grandma's. I don't understand why anyone makes stroganoff out of the box. This is so unbelievably easy! Its also so cheap to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexandrea Netka

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
It was good after quite a few changes. I added onions, mushrooms, and garlic to the ground beef. Used one can of cream of mushroom soup, one can of beef broth, one beef boullion cube, one packet of ranch mix, and 8 oz of sour cream. Served over egg noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Good starter but was not what I expected, sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
Quite good but make plenty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Klocko

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kady Grigsby-Hale
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This recipe was great. I made my own cream of, instead of canned. Mine called for a lot more sour cream. My family enjoyed this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kady Grigsby-Hale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Made this for dinner, it was awesome. The only thing I did different was used real garlic and fresh mushrooms, I used one can of cream of mushroom soup and used chicken broth instead of beef broth. I also used a cup of sour cream. It was great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
It was simply enough that even I could follow it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Caldwell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Rocklin, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
It was delicious and so easy to make! Thank you for making my life easy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 370) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Weeknight Beef Stroganoff

Get a head start on classic beef stroganoff.

Easy Beef Stroganoff

This rich, creamy stroganoff makes a tasty weeknight dinner.

Daria's Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

Saucy, creamy and comforting dish of beef and mushrooms prepared in a slow cooker

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States