Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
I was so disappointed in this recipe! The ribs came out tough, even with extended simmer time, and amazingly they came out dry! I don't understand how something that simmers IN LIQUID could come out so dry. The ribs had no flavor at all. I ended up brushing my ribs with a little honey and BBQ sauce and broiling for 2 minutes at the end just to add a little flavor. I will not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flower Mound, Texas, USA
Living In: Garland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Very good answer to short timeline preparation compared to the grill. The wife liked this very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crashcutter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
These were the best beef short ribs I have ever made. My entire family loved them. The only thing I added was thyme when I seasoned them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This is a great recipe I've used many times. Most recently made it in a dutch oven and used Coca Cola as the liquid, came out delicious and easy as usual. Try it, you'll love it guaranteed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Gillaspie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thomasville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
WOWIE! Very simple and super delicious! This really only DID take 15 minutes of prep time. My picky kids even loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
Wow, I am shocked at all the good reviews. Even the basic mechanics of the recipe didn't work for me. I ran out of flour to dredge the meat, because 2 Tbsp per pound is not enough unless one is lightly dusting with flour rather than dredging. I had to do two batches of browning because all the ribs did not fit in the (large) pot I was using. After the first batch, I had to WASH the pot because it was full of burned bits. I did the second batch on medium and not medium-high, and did not have this problem. And the results? Rather bland, too fatty, nothing that even came close to justifying the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I was skeptical but this was super! Next time, will try in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Greasy and super bland. Very one-note.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I prefer pork ribs, so we used those instead, but the sauce is sooo amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was my first time making short ribs. I do not like cooking, as I call it, "big beef" because it never comes out tender. Not this recipe! My short ribs were falling off the bone and so tender. I used guinnise beer extra stout. I will use a litte less because of the extra stout. But my husband said leave it the way it is. We just ate the last today for lunch and we were smacking, mm mm good! this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States