Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Very simple, but delicious; it's all but throwing it all in a pot and letting it cook. The onions melt away, making for a simple sauce. Works very well with a cheap roast cut as well, and for a slow cooker. I alter it sometimes by adding mushrooms and carrots and other veg you'd add to a beef stew or pot roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This took about 45 min of prep time cutting off all the fat. I sprinkled a liberal amount of pepper on one side and garlic salt on the other side, prior to dipping in flower. 4lbs of meat, .5L bottle of export bitburger beer, one can of beef broth and added garlic salt then threw it in the oven for 2 1/2-3 hours at about 350 degrees Farenheit (180Celcius or so). It was a HUGE hit - so delicious. Baked red potatoes with rosemary about 1 hour prior to being finished too. (sliced/cubed potatoes and brushed melted butter with rosemary and garlic salt, then placed on to the greased cookie sheet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2012
We loved these and I have made them twice now. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
Meat was tender and taste was okay, but this wasn't anything special. The mashed potato side stole this show, and they weren't anything special either. Oh well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoosierMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Loved it! Swapped out the beer for a red wine and it was fabulous. I made some rustic potatoes as well. Added carrots to the dish. Very easy and very very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I used boneless beef short ribs cut into 1 inch cubes. I just salted and peppered them and browned them in oil. Didn't bother dredging them with flour cause IMHO, dredging meat in flour is rarely worth the time and effort. I added sliced carrots about an hour into simmering. And I thickened the sauce with flour before serving over noodles. Very yummy! Just needed a touch more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Made this for the hubby this weekend. So simple and so wonderful! Only change that I made was after I had everything mixed in the pan I transfered to a slow cooker. Literally fell off the bone! Husband insists that I make this instead of roast from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Came out very tender and flavorful and we ate over noodles with sour cream. Next time, I would add some carrots while cooking to add a little more flavor/sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
yummy and pretty simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
The sauce was great, but the ribs were not very tender even after 4 hours. Next time I will try it in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msimps14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States