Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Flavor is like pot roast. Tasty, but nothing special. More the problem: meat was TOUGH, as in inedible. (I've just thrown it back in the pot for another hour, just to see if that's the problem). I followed the recipe exactly. My husband says I needed to bring the pot to a full boil again before the simmer step. But the recipe didn't say that. Was that the problem?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
Yum!! Had braised short ribs at one of my favorite restaurants and loved them so I decided to try this at home. I didn't have a stout beer, so I used a Bud Light and added soy sauce (Guinness always reminds me of soy sauce). This was fantastic! Served with garlic mashed potatoes. Hubby loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cleer Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Made 2 lbs. in the slow cooker today. They were so tender. I added paprika and rosemary to the ribs. I omitted the flour and beer and put everything directly in the slow cooker. My entire family ate them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNYB75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
These were good, but not spectacular. I think this cut of meat can stand up to more assertive seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Great recipe! Easy enough to make as well. Didn't have any beer on hand so I substituted it for red wine, came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Tasted just like the short ribs @ fig tree cafe my husband devoured them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Ohhhh so good. I took one reviewer's advice and added Worchestershire Sauce and Rosemary. I made it in the crock pot. I thicken up the sauce as we love gravy. I served it over rice, my husband's favorite but I will serve the leftovers over noodles, what I prefer. Thanks so much!!! Either way, it is a keeper!!! Thanks. :))))))
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Wrzesinski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Wow. Fall apart good! I used plain beer, because that's all I had, and would like to try the stout, but really, it was delicious regardless, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I made these for dinner last night. Oh my. These are soooooo good. This is officially a staple recipe in my file. I'll be making these again and again. I did not use short ribs. They were just too expensive. I used beef back ribs ! Yummy ! My husband is a very plain eater. he hates his food all spiced up and sauced up. Says it spoils the taste of the main ingredient.. Thank you allrecipes.com. I always find good recipes on your site. Mary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
So good- I didn't have beer so used extra beef stock and a splash of red wine. Easy to prepare-I'm all into simple and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States