Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I made this and it came out great!!! I coarsely chopped some celery to go with the onions and garlic! It added texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellent! Put in 14.5 oz can of chicken broth by mistake so I added two beef boullion cubes. Everyone loved it. Never had short ribs before but I will definitely have them again. I used the extra gravy on spaghetti the next day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong, but the only thing I changed was that I used boneless short ribs. They were so tasteless. We had to slather them with horseradish to give it some kind of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Incredible taste. The recipe only calls for 1 pound of ribs which is a very small amount considering most of the weight is in the bones. I used 4 pounds. It took approx. 45 minutes to dredge and brown the ribs. I didn't increase the amount of the liquid though. The amount given in the recipe worked fine for the 4 pounds of meat. I used my Lodge cast iron dutch oven which has a heavy lid and doesn't allow much liquid to cook out. It worked wonderful for the ribs. After about two hours the meat was falling off the bone. The flavor was great. We ate it with a nice crusty bread and sopped up the juice. Divine !!! It was nice to find a rib recipe that doesn't rely on a sweet barbecue sauce. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
A perfect Sunday fall afternoon dish that makes the whole house smell wonderful. I didn't have stout, so used a lager and it didn't seem to harm the taste. I used boneless beef ribs, and they came out tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Loooove this recipe! I used burgandy wine instead of beer since we eat Gluten Free and used instead of beef stock as well... I also didn't use the flour (since it has gluten). I went ahead and added the garlic when I seared the ribs at first to seal in more flavor. Definitely a keeper! :) I plan on using the extra stock for french onion soup, it is delish!... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I omitted the olive oil and butter from this recipe. There is enough fat in the beef. Added a few more cloves of garlic and used onion soup mix and 1 cup water because I did not have any beef broth. After browning the beef and the onion garlic mixture, I deglazed the pan with the onion soup and then the beer and poured it all in a slow cooker, with a few chunks of carrots, on high for 3 hours. Serve it on noodles or rice. What a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was an awesome recipe. I tweeked it out of necessity of lack of called for ingredients. I used Kitchen Bouquet Browning sauce instead of the beef stock and I added fresh sliced mushrooms during the last hour of cooking time. I will definately prepare this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarlaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Instead of beer I used red wine and I also added more garlic cloves. Also, when you take the meat out of the liquid at the end, let it boil down into a thicker demi glace type gravy. About 10 or 15 extra mins. Then spoon the demi glace over the meat or onto mashed potatoes. This was so good that my neighbor, who is a chef, wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States