Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
A perfect Sunday fall afternoon dish that makes the whole house smell wonderful. I didn't have stout, so used a lager and it didn't seem to harm the taste. I used boneless beef ribs, and they came out tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Loooove this recipe! I used burgandy wine instead of beer since we eat Gluten Free and used instead of beef stock as well... I also didn't use the flour (since it has gluten). I went ahead and added the garlic when I seared the ribs at first to seal in more flavor. Definitely a keeper! :) I plan on using the extra stock for french onion soup, it is delish!... :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Studio City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
I omitted the olive oil and butter from this recipe. There is enough fat in the beef. Added a few more cloves of garlic and used onion soup mix and 1 cup water because I did not have any beef broth. After browning the beef and the onion garlic mixture, I deglazed the pan with the onion soup and then the beer and poured it all in a slow cooker, with a few chunks of carrots, on high for 3 hours. Serve it on noodles or rice. What a wonderful treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was an awesome recipe. I tweeked it out of necessity of lack of called for ingredients. I used Kitchen Bouquet Browning sauce instead of the beef stock and I added fresh sliced mushrooms during the last hour of cooking time. I will definately prepare this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarlaK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lancaster, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Instead of beer I used red wine and I also added more garlic cloves. Also, when you take the meat out of the liquid at the end, let it boil down into a thicker demi glace type gravy. About 10 or 15 extra mins. Then spoon the demi glace over the meat or onto mashed potatoes. This was so good that my neighbor, who is a chef, wanted seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
This recipes was delicious. A big hit, even with my fussy kids:) I would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Caledonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
When it says simple, it is! The 2 hrs simmering does all the work. I used Guiness Extra Stout. I thickened the cooking liquids the last 15 mins with diluted cornstarch to use as gravy. Even my 5 & 9 yr olds enjoyed. Served with egg noodles and squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karin V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Decatur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I had never made short ribs before. This recipe was very simple and delish!! :) Thank you so much for sharing it with us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Simple and delicious! I made two substitutions. Instead of salt, I used a salt free seasoning blend, and I didn't have beef broth, so I used a pkg of reduced sodium brown gravy mix with 1 cup water. The gravy was the perfect consistency, I didn't have to thicken it at all. This will be my "go to" short rib recipe from now on. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States