Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Easy, easy, easy! My family loved it! Only because I'm not a beer drinker (lol) I might go with a less full flavored beer. But that's only because of MY taste buds like mild. But that wouldn't prevent me from giving this a 5 Star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
I had such high hopes for this recipe after reading other reviews, but ended up so disappointed. I first looked at the short ribs at our local grocery store and thought they looked fatty, so instead I bought them at the most reputable meat store in town. They still looked fatty, but having never cooked them before, I figured that must be normal and somehow magically in the cooking process the fat would melt away. I followed the recipe to a T (except made more than the 1 pound called for, which didn't seem like nearly enough for 4 people). The meat had good flavor and fell away from the bone but, as I suspected, it had sooo much fat and even areas of gristle mixed in. Even my teenage son who eats just about anything thought they were too fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The beef was very tender and the gravy very nice but I was expecting a little more favor. Its great for a base and I will use again but might try experimenting a little with spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
I made this for my husband and it was FANTASTIC! The meat was literally falling off the bone and had lots of flavor. The sauce left in the pan was delicious and we put it on our garlic mashed potatoes we had on the side. The stout gave it a really nice flavor (and I don't like beer!). This really was very easy to make and we were thrilled with the results--will definitely make again. Oh, and as someone else mentioned, you can use more than a pound of short ribs with the same amount of everything else (maybe a tad more salt, pepper, and flour) and it works great. I used nearly 4 pounds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
Very easy. I placed it all in a crock pot and cooked on low for 8 hours. Very tender and the gravy was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxmomx3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
I accidentally made these with pork and it turned out amazing! I used St. Pauli Gill special dark and it had a wonderful flavor. Even the next day when I shredded the leftovers and added it to fajitas. I just made them again the other night and used beef and wow were they tender. You won't regret picking this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I wouldn't make again. I would reduce the onion. Someone mentioned the remaining broth would be good for onion soup, I agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2011
I made this and it came out great!!! I coarsely chopped some celery to go with the onions and garlic! It added texture and flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellent! Put in 14.5 oz can of chicken broth by mistake so I added two beef boullion cubes. Everyone loved it. Never had short ribs before but I will definitely have them again. I used the extra gravy on spaghetti the next day. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong, but the only thing I changed was that I used boneless short ribs. They were so tasteless. We had to slather them with horseradish to give it some kind of taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States