Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I have never made beef ribs before. It was fantastic in the crock pot. I did brown the ribs before and and the onion with 3 cloves of garlic. I used just two boullion cubes instead of broth and only used the beer for liquid. I left out the salt and it turned out perfect. What a great easy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
I was in a rush and ended up not following the recipe exactly. I forgot to dredge the ribs in flour, salt and pepper before browning them. I ended up seasoning after browning (no flour) and cooked it in a cast iron pan that wasn't tall enough for the lid to fit properly with the ribs in. All in all it ended up fairly tasty regardless and I will definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Nilson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
Loved it, added 2 cups Red wine, 3 carrots, celery and fresh garlic. Used chicken broth and a bay leaf. I also simmered 1 hr longer. Meat was so tender you could cut it with a fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
My family and I loved this. Very flavorful and simple recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I've made this twice and it's so great, i would'nt make short ribs any other way. They're expensive these days so this recipe does them justice. The browning sort of carmelizes them and the long cook time makes them fall off the bone, not something I usually accomplish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Made it in the crock pot! Tender and delicious. A definite keeper for cold winter days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This recipe is wonderful. Like a few others, I don't like BBQ sauce on my short ribs. We love the flavor of these. My only change is I didn't use beer - substituted more beef broth. Cooked in a crock pot. Prepared brown rice and used the sauce/drippings over everything. We can't get enough of this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KHONEY1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
First time cooking beef short ribs and this recipe made them turn out great! I will be using this recipe again. I also turned the remaining liquid into a gravy, so yummy! The boyfriend liked it, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy Kay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I had bought the short ribs on a whim and had no idea how to cook them. I followed this simple recipe and couldn't believe how delicious the dish was. It was even better the second day. The Stout gave it a dark, smoky undertaste. Next time I'll add in some carrots. I ate it over egg noodles and it was sublime. I would highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Haislip

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
Fantastic! Thanks for a great recipe! I doubled the beef and used a 14.9 ounce can of Guiness and a full tablespoon of freshly minced garlic. It's even more delicious the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Life Tastes Good

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States