Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
Made this for the hubby this weekend. So simple and so wonderful! Only change that I made was after I had everything mixed in the pan I transfered to a slow cooker. Literally fell off the bone! Husband insists that I make this instead of roast from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
Came out very tender and flavorful and we ate over noodles with sour cream. Next time, I would add some carrots while cooking to add a little more flavor/sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
yummy and pretty simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
The sauce was great, but the ribs were not very tender even after 4 hours. Next time I will try it in the crock pot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by msimps14

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
These were delicious, tender and easy! My new favorite short rib recipe with these additions. I added a mix of paprika, chili powder, brown sugar, cayenne and garlic powder to the flour/salt/pepper to dredge the ribs in before browning. It gave them a delicious, crunchy crust. Place the browned ribs in a large slow cooker then cook the onions and garlic in the same skillet. Before removing the onions/garlic deglaze the pan with the beer. Pour this mixture over the ribs along with the beef stock. I also added a few squirts of Worchestershire to the liquid. Lay a large stem of rosemary and a couple stems of sage on top of everything. (If desired, add chopped carrots and mushrooms). Cook on high for 5 hours. Slightly thicken the sauce with a flour/water mix 1 hour before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TREMAYNE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Finally a recipe that is simple (really) and tasty. The aroma of this dish cooking is enough to make you come back for more before you have even eaten it. I basically followed it except now that I look I used canola oil and not olive and I used minced garlic and not a fresh clove, oh, and I didn't have stout beer so I used a bottle of Bud (that's the only I had in my frige). I guess basically this recipe is flexible AND tasty. I served this with potato pancakes and corn. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Really good. I make in the crock pot after browning in the pan first. Only downside is short ribs tend to be fatty, and the fat gets incorporated into the sauce. I might want to try to cool and skim the fat next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
I like this recipe and have made it several times. I have to say first off that 1 pound of ribs for 4 servings must be a misprint. I use 3 to 4 pounds of ribs. I followed the recipe as is the first time and it was good. The next time I used 1 small can of tomato sauce and 1/2 cup of beef stock and added extra garlic. This really bumped the sauce up which I then thickened and served with the ribs over wide noodles. Delish. I also find that you can use almost any beer and it will come out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
These are, by far, the BEST short ribs I have ever eaten! I was skeptical that a recipe that was so simple could possibly produce such a wonderful dish --- but I was wrong. The meat was so tender and flavorful and the gravy was unbeatable. My husband and I can't stop raving over this dish! The only changes I made were due to my own preferences. I cooked 3+ pounds of ribs (they are among my husband's best-loved beef meals), I used low-salt broth and, of course, I added much more garlic than the recipe called for. Although the gravy was a good consistency, I did add about a 1/3 cup of roue as suggested. The gravy was still not at all too thick or gummy. I served the short ribs with a horseradish sauce also found at the website, baked red potatoes and steamed frozen peas. A winner all around! I can still taste its goodness hours after we've eaten and I can't thank "CooperCook" enough for this great recipe. It will certainly be a regular favorite in this house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eatontown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Easy and delicious. I did make a mistake, and forgot to add the cup of beef broth, but they still came out delicious, with a nice gravy left over. I browned a nice crust on 1 1/2 lbs. of short ribs, each side about 5 minutes, covered and set to low. Let them cook exactly 2 hours. Next time i will remember the broth, i forgot in the microwave 2 hours earlier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Croton Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States