Simple Beef Short Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
My sister-inlaw loves these so I make them when she visits. We had a crowd playing darts and we let them cook covered at 350. for 4hrs They were not over cooked! I also sliced the onions and put them in the bottom of the casserole and put some more on top and covered tight. hope you will try these I don't think you will be disapponted
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
I doubled recipe, only to find liquid much too juicy and thin (tried to thicken it, but guess I did not use enough flour). I browned ribs first and then finished in crock pot. I might have used a bad batch of ribs as well - no flavor and not much beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu
Home Town: Peterborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
Maybe I used the wrong type of stout, but we didn't like it at all. The gravy had a bitter taste. Normally we fight over the onions, but this time I threw them all away. Also, the meat was rather bland tasting. I'll go back to my tomato paste based recipe. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by inounvme
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Quite nice followed recipe as listed except a little extra onion and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inounvme

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansdowne, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Used Provo girl beer and paste type bouillon. Didn't have an onion on hand but onion powder to my taste worked well. There were no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
I used boneless short ribs, 1 can of Campbells Beef Broth, and a Coors beer. I browned the ribs very well and followed the recipe. I did put them in my crockpot. This is the best short rib recipe I have made and I have made several. It is so easy and every one loved them. I did thicken the juice with some flour mixed with water to make gravy. Oh my yes! Served with Brown rice and was highly praised. Thanks CooperCook for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
good stuff, I even used light beer. Next time I would be a little heavier handed on the salt and pepper. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennymama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
delicious...but sauce/gravy was thin...so i had to thicken it with quite a bit of flour and reduce it...otherwise i would have given it 5 stars...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joan k

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
We've tried dozens of short rib recipes this one is easy and delish if you ever watch cooking shows the chefs always say keep it fresh and simple this reciepe fits the bill! and my husband always does the cooking bonus!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
I had some beef ribs marinating in some leftover coffee and used this recipe. I had friends coming over and informed them that I was serving an experiment because the leftover coffee was raspberry/vanilla that the ribs had been marinating in. I used this recipe accordingly and got rave reviews. Thank you for sharing a very easy but delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Beef Short Ribs Sauerbraten

See how to make tender beef short ribs, German-style.

Sherry Braised Beef Short Ribs

See how to make tender short ribs braised in sherry.

Grilled Korean-Style Beef Short Ribs

See how to make Korean-style grilled short ribs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States